The Fresno Grizzlies Are Raffling Off An Unopened Pack Of Piedmont Lights

Talk about your ultimate unopened pack, a 100-year-old pack of cigarettes with a T206 inside… I just read about this on Ben’s Biz Blog (which is a Minor League Baseball blog about the business of minor league baseball, especially promotions), and on Sports Collectors Daily.

Raffle tickets are being sold at the Fresno Grizzlies’ ballpark and team store, and it’s being played up as potentially containing a Honus Wagner, but the chances are not good for that.

I would have a serious conundrum with a pack like this.  I mean, who wouldn’t want to open it?  But on the other hand, it’s probably worth much more as an unopened pack than as, for example, an opened pack of cigarettes plus a T206 common.

The other thing that bothers me about opening vintage packs like this is that every time someone opens one, that’s one fewer unopened pack left.  It’s a finite resource, and once you’ve opened all the Piedmont packs, there are no more, and there won’t be any for future generations.  Of course, there’s always the standpoint of “Screw the future generations, I wanna open it!”

What would you do if you won this raffle?  Would you open the pack, keep it as an unopened pack or resell it?

2 responses to “The Fresno Grizzlies Are Raffling Off An Unopened Pack Of Piedmont Lights

  1. I assume that whoever wins will probably end up selling so they have some cash to pay the taxes on their winnings. I’m not sure how much it’s worth, but I’m guess it’s reasonably valuable.

    The other point against opening it – who knows what kind of condition the card will be in after sitting in a pack of cigarettes for 100 years?

    • I never even thought about the income tax implications, but I think that people rarely do when they win something.

      The one article I linked to (Sports Collectors Daily, I think) said that the pack was obtained from someone who had a second pack which he’d opened, and his haul was a PSA 8 T206, but it wasn’t known who the card was of… So the card might be in nice condition, it might be ruined, you never know. I guess it might depend on how the cards are packed with the cigarettes, something I’ve never been 100% clear on.

      Something I just thought of; Would anybody try smoking 100-year-old tobacco? I wouldn’t think so, but I never would’ve thought that anybody would put a 30-year-old piece of bubble gum in their mouth, and several bloggers have done that (no offense intended, guys…)

Leave a Reply

