A Little Bleary… Worse For Wear And Tear…


I spent a large amount of the weekend staring at a laptop, taking advantage of the COMC.com sales and working on my card inventory.  My eyes are still tired from staring at the computer for so long, and of course I have to go to work today and… stare at a laptop all day.  At least it’s a different laptop.

Just a quick aside, today’s images aren’t cards I bought, but are the type of cards I was looking for.

The whole Black Friday on COMC experience is a bit of a blur…  I was shopping on-and-off all day, and aside from trying to get my usual needs, I wanted to take advantage of the searching ability of COMC to find some really offbeat stuff… I worked on player collections, I searched on soccer players I saw play for the Long Island Rough Riders in the 1990’s, I tried to find basketball cards of former Orioles pitcher Mark Hendrickson… the kind of stuff you’re not going to easily find by poking through quarter boxes.

To be honest, I don’t remember a lot of what I bought, I just know there’s a 170-something card shipment heading my way.  I bought a bunch of Hostess cards and 1960′s and 1970′s Mets, I completed one of my semi-vintage Steelers team sets, I came close to completing the first series of 1972 baseball… but that doesn’t account for 170 cards.  I have a feeling that when my package arrives, it’ll be almost a surprise, with a lot of “Oh, yeaaaaahhhhhh, I forgot I bought this one…”  Naturally, I’ll be sharing my swag when it comes.

I’m curious to know if anybody got the reference in the subject line… The phrase popped in my head when I first woke up this morning, and it took me a while to remember that it came from the Rolling Stones’ song “Far Away Eyes”.  I’m not a fan of the Stones, songs like “Satisfaction”, “Let’s Spend The Night Together”, or “It’s Only Rock N’ Roll” leave  me cold, but I like “Far Away Eyes”.  What does that say about me?  I guess it says I’m weird, but you probably figured that out by now.

Here’s the official video for that song; usually it’s just Charlie Watts that amuses me by looking extremely bored, but pretty much everybody but Mick & Ronnie look like they’d rather be elsewhere.  For what it’s worth, this is a different version than is on the “Some Girls” album; looks like they’re actually performing.

…so next week, I got a prayer for the girl – well, you know what kinda eyes she got!

3 thoughts on “A Little Bleary… Worse For Wear And Tear…

  1. I, too, did a good bit of shopping on COMC this weekend, though I ended up with only 58 cards. I spent (only?) a few hours browsing the site and compiling a shopping list, though I wish I had the time and money to really tackle some of those oddball sets I rarely see. I guess there’s always next year – or whenever they hold their next sale.

    • Yeah, I spent way too much time shopping, and maybe too much store credit, but then again that’s what the credit is there for… but I haven’t been to a show since The National, so I was in major need of some card buying.

      • Hah, yes, store credit. I don’t ever sell on COMC so I never get to use store credit (unless I pay for it myself). I debated putting in a bigger order, but I decided it would be smarter to wait on some (most?) of it and hope that I can visit a National show sometime in the next few years.

Leave a Reply

