Surprised By A Line Drive Or Three

I bought a lot of Line Drive cards in the early 1990′s, but they were mostly of cards like this one:
1991 Line Drive Charlie Manuel

I never realized that there was anything other than minor league cards sold under the “Line Drive” brand until I stumbled across these cards while shopping on COMC:

1991 Line Drive Tommie Agee
1991 Line Drive Tommie Agee back

I was an active collector in 1991, and I do not remember these cards at all.  Even now, I still don’t know much about this set.  Was it sold in packs?  Was it regional?

1991 Line Drive Davey Johnson

“Fifty cards of retired players, put out by Impel Marketing”.  That’s pretty much all I know about this set.  If you Google on “1991 Line Drive”, most of the hits will be for the minor league sets, with an occasional “Collect-A-Books”  hit thrown in for good measure.

1991 Line Drive Jerry Grote

Does anybody out there remember buying these cards in 1991?

7 thoughts on “Surprised By A Line Drive Or Three

    • I can’t say definitively, but I have one of the Marvel sets from the early 1990′s and I’m pretty sure that the Impel logo on the card back is the same as what’s on the Marvel cards. The card stock is similar as well.

  1. I don’t see anything in my master Reds checklist (meaning there are either no Reds cards or Beckett simply didn’t have them listed), and I don’t recognize the card design you posted. Like you, I remember (and still have) several of the minor league cards.

Leave a Reply

