SSPC = Stunned Shlabotnik Purchases Cards

I was just at a show where there was a dealer who had boxes of cheap semi-vintage cards… You know the kind of box I’m talking about;  VG/EX 1970’s commons, many of which smell like someone’s basement.  I’ve been working on knocking a few things off my 1970’s wantlists, so I eagerly plowed into the first box.

I noticed a section of white-ish cards I thought might be OPC’s – I’m always on the lookout for 1977 OPC baseball – and I pulled out and handful… but they weren’t OPC’s, they were 1975 SSPC cards… maybe a hundred of them.  I almost never run across SSPC’s, especially in quantities like this, so even though most of the cards were along the lines of Dan Spillner and Doug Flynn, I pulled out some of the more interesting ones and then moved on to the 1971’s and 1972’s in the box.

After I was done with that box, I moved on to the next 5,000-count box.

And as soon as I saw what was in the next box… Well, I think the great Jackie Gleason put it best when he said…

The next box had another 1,000 SSPC’s.

There ensued a brief moment of overwhelmed panic.  I’d been at the show all day, and I wasn’t sure I was up to the task of going through all the cards.  Even if I started to go through them, what do I take?  The Mets and Orioles for sure, but what else?  Stars?  Cool shots?  Awesomely bad 1970’s hair?  What?  WHAT????

Finally, a voice in my head said “You can’t nickel & dime through a haul like this… Ask the guy what he’ll take for all of the SSPC’s”.

After a bit of discussion, I got all the SSPC’s he had in exchange for all the cash I had left ($50).

Tired and with an empty wallet, I went back to my car and headed home.

Needless to say, I was excited about my purchase… but for me, “excited” goes hand-in-hand with “neurotically worrying that I somehow got ripped off”… Worried that I overpaid for what some would dismiss as a crap-ton of “Broders”… worried that the cards could be counterfeits… worried that the cards have been picked over to the point where anybody who ever got more than 5% of the Hall-Of-Fame voting was long ago cleared out… worried that I’ll get home and find that half of the cards are of Doug Konieczny.  You think it’s bad being Bipped?  Try being Koniecznied.

It took much of the 2-hour drive home, but I finally reassured myself that I’ll easily get $50 worth of entertainment out these cards…

…and, as is the case with my entire collection, it is my sincerest hope that recouping the investment is an issue to be left for my estate’s executor… many, many years down the road.

…Anyway, here’s my haul of approximately 1,200 SSPC cards…
1975 SSPC Haul
The set is made up of 630 cards, so I could in theory – IN THEORY!!!! – have a complete set and nearly a second.  I know that’s not going to happen, but we’ll see how close I get to one set, and what’s left over when I’m done. I’m going to put the over/under at 500 different cards.

I should point out that I’m starting out with no cards at all from this set, save for two autographed Mets cards that I wouldn’t count for being part of a set.

So, that’s where I’m at right now… Excitement, apprehension, a lot of sorting and scanning ahead of me.  It’s only been a couple of days and I haven’t even had a chance to go through the cards, nor have I completely decided how to blog about it.  One of the first things I thought of on the drive home was “Hey, I could start a blog just on this set!”

The thing is, I’m already pushing the limits of how much time I can spend blogging, I don’t know that I’d be able to start a second blog without the first one suffering.   At this point, I’m thinking of featuring a couple of SSPC cards each week, but if anyone wants to talk me into a separate blog, I’d be willing to listen.

But one way or the other, you’ll be seeing a lot more of these cards!

Oh, before I forget, there were three cards inadvertently mixed in with the SSPC’s:

Cards I Got With SSPCs

I’ve already got the two baseball cards, and I wouldn’t normally collect a card of a Buffalo Bill, but I’ll probably hang on to that Dennis Johnson card just because.

13 thoughts on “SSPC = Stunned Shlabotnik Purchases Cards

  1. Nice haul. Reading this makes me want to go through the thousands of unorganized Yankee cards I own to see if I have any myself and if not, figure out when my next card show is so I could pick up some.

    • Thanks. Now that the fire’s been lit under my butt, I’ll probably want to work on picking up whatever I end up needing, but I wonder if this will be like my quest for 1977 OPC’s… They’re not necessarily expensive, but nobody has them. Not where I live, anyway.

  2. Pingback: The SSPC set: 1975 or 1976? |

  3. Pingback: 1976 SSPC #392 – Brooks Robinson (WooHoo! I’ve Got SSPC Orioles!) | The Shlabotnik Report

Leave a Reply

