The Disappointment Of A Kellogg’s Team Set

A recent series of posts over in The Phillies Room inspired me to get my Post and Kellogg’s cards organized and entered in my homegrown Access database. I got my checklist info entered, entered my inventory, and then went back and generated wantlists of New York Mets.

I have fewer than 30 Kellogg’s cards altogether, and they were all picked up on random occasions without any sort of game plan, so I was surprised to find that I didn’t need any Mets from 1977 to 1980. I went back and looked at the checklists for those sets and realized that there was good news and bad news.

The good news was that it wasn’t bad data or any issues with my database, I did actually have a complete run of Kellogg’s Mets for those years.

The bad news was that the reason I have a complete run was because there are damn few cards to be had. Here’s a perfect example of what I’m talking about, this is the Mets “team set” for 1978 Kellogg’s:

1978 Kellogg's Lenny Randle
Yep, that’s it. One card.

To be fair, the Mets were not a good team and had traded away Tom Seaver and Dave Kingman the year before. But Lenny Randle? I have nothing against Lenny Randle, but I’d assumed that there must be other Kellogg’s cards solely because they wouldn’t give Lenny a card while ignoring Jerry Koosman, would they?

Apparently they would.

What’s especially irksome is that the Yankees had 7 cards in that set and the Dodgers and Philllies had 5 cards each. Meanwhile, the Mets had company in their misery in that the Braves, Red Sox, Indians, Tigers, Brewers, Expos, Padres, Giants, Mariners and Blue Jays also had a solitary card in the set… at least, according to the information in the checklist I’ve got.

That’s it, I’ve had enough of this crap! I’m boycotting Kellogg’s for something they did 35 years ago!

…Yeah, like you’ve never heard of worse reasons for boycotting a company.

5 thoughts on “The Disappointment Of A Kellogg’s Team Set

  1. Welcome to my world. 80% of the time… my Padres are given the shaft. But that’s expected when (excluding the Gwynn years) 8 out 10 years they lack a super star on their roster.

  2. In the late ’70s, my brothers and I ordered the complete Kellogg’s team set off the form on the box and when it arrived, we’d assemble it by team. All of our favorite teams were well-represented. And then we’d laugh at teams like the Mariners that’d get only one card. Kellogg’s was as good as looking at the standings, telling you where teams stood.

Leave a Reply

