Leaf Got It Bass-Ackwards In 1993

The front of 1993 Leaf cards are nothing special… Typical early 1990’s upscale cards. The backs are another story…
1993 Leaf Jeff Kent back

…so much so that I recently turned my 1993 Leaf Mets around in the plastic sheets so as to feature the back rather than the front.

1993 Leaf John Franco back

I grew up 30+ miles from Manhattan, and I went there a couple of times a year and… well, it’s not that I wasn’t impressed by it, but I didn’t think about it. It was what it was.

1993 Leaf Bobby Bonilla back

The last time I was in New York I was stuck in traffic on the Verrazano Narrows Bridge which goes from Staten Island to Brooklyn. Traffic had come to a complete halt, and I got frustrated because I wanted to get where I was going, see friends and family, not get stuck on a bridge.  After I was done cursing out my bad luck, I turned and started absentmindedly looking out the window.  I realized that from on that bridge I had a great view of the lights of New York City and I gained a new appreciation for how beautiful and amazing and impressive New York can be.  It wasn’t until I left the area and came back that it really sunk in.

I guess that’s just the way things go, isn’t it?  You sometimes don’t appreciate what’s around you until after it’s no longer around you.

5 thoughts on “Leaf Got It Bass-Ackwards In 1993

  1. I love the ’93 Leaf set solely for the backs. Been looking to complete the team sets for the Padres and White Sox, two cities in which I have lived. Might need to add the Mets to that list – Lady Liberty needs to be on more cardboard.

    • I wrote this post over the weekend, and since then I’ve been pondering what to do with this set. I definitely have to complete my Mets team set – if I haven’t already, I’m still disorganized for Leaf – but I might try to collect one of each background as well. That would make for a couple of beautiful binder pages, don’tcha think?

    • Coolness, thanks for the link! I must’ve missed those posts… or my memory is failing me yet again.

      …But one of my favorite card backs didn’t even make your top 10? SHAME! SHAME!

      …Good thing I’ve got a post about that one in the works… :-D

Leave a Reply

