A Really Big Schu

News item:  The Washington Nationals fired hitting coach Rick Eckstein and replaced him with organizational hitting coordinator (and Shlabotnik favorite) Rick Schu.

Before I get started:  My apologies to Mr. Schu for the subject line and what’s about to follow.

1990 Donruss Rick Schu

I’ve already talked about my fondness for Rick Schu here, but I can’t resist another opportunity to highlight my Rick Schu PC… So right now I’m going to share with you my top 10 songs which have something in the title which sounds like “Schu” (starting with the favorite, roughly speaking, and working down):

1. Shoehorn With Teeth – They Might Be Giants
I freakin’ love this song, it’s catchy, cheesy, goofy and just plain ol’ bizarre, all rolled into 1  minute and 13 seconds… How the heck can you resist a song where one of the verses is “Tour the world in a Heavy Metal band, but they run out of gas – the plane can never land”.

2. Old Brown Shoe – The Beatles
Beatles. ‘Nuff said.

3. Diamonds on the Soles of Her Shoes – Paul Simon
1987 Topps Rick Schu

4. (The Angels Wanna Wear My) Red Shoes – Elvis Costello & the Attractions
There’s a group called Hem which does a really interesting version of this song.

5. Shoe Box – Barenaked Ladies
BNL used to be one of my favorite bands, but that was at least 6 studio albums ago. Sorry, guys, but you lost me with “Everything To Everyone”.

6. Blue Suede Schubert – The Rutles
The Rutles are a parody of The Beatles, as done by Eric Idle of Monty Python and Neil Innes, who was sort of “The 7th Python”… or maybe the 8th, you could make a good argument that Carol Cleveland was “the 7th Python”. Anyway, there was a very funny TV special called “The Rutles: All You Need Is Cash” which featured Idle, Innes and had cameos from an amazing bunch of people: Mick Jagger, Paul Simon, half the original cast of Saturday Night Live, even George Harrison.

7. Shoo Be Doo – The Cars
More of a link than a song. Too bad. It’s my list and “Shoo Be Doo” is cool.

8. Blue Suede Shoes – Carl Perkins
Elvis? Elvis who? Carl Perkins was much better.

9. Goody Two Shoes – Adam Ant
1987 Fleer Rick Schu

10. Wing Tip Shoes – Henry Lee Summer
I saw Henry Lee Summer open for Chicago years ago. Chicago was OK, but Henry Lee put them to shame.  Pity there’s no commercially-available version of this song which does it justice.

1994 BBM Rick Schu

This is the second time I’ve featured this card, but it’s too awesome of a card to not post again.

One thought on “A Really Big Schu

Leave a Reply

