Heritage High Numbers – The Dangers Of Buying Into The Hype

When Topps announced last fall that it would be selling an online-only update to the 2012 Heritage set, and that it would be limited to 1000 sets, my immediate thoughts were “Well, those are some Mets cards I’ll never have”.

I was wrong.

I think I bought into the Topps Hype Machine a little too much.  While 1,000 cards aren’t many for Mike Trout or Bryce Harper, it’s sufficient for Kirk Nieuwenhuis and Jon Niese.  When you think about it, if someone had told me “The Topps Update set will include Heritage inserts which will be numbered to 1000”, I probably wouldn’t have written them off like I’d written off the Heritage High Numbers.  I wonder why that is.

Anyway, I got these during last March’s “Spring Cleaning” promotion on COMC.

Jon Niese had a nice year last year, winning 13 games for a team that only won 74.  This year he’s not been as good, and he’s been on the DL since June with a partially torn rotator cuff.

2012 Topps Heritage Hi-#'s Jonathon Niese

Jordany Valdespin is currently with AAA Las Vegas, and either has no shortage of confidence or is a cocky SOB, depending on how you want to look at it.

2012 Topps Heritage Hi-#'s Jordany Valdespin

Andres Torres spent one year as a Met then went back to the Giants as a free agent.  If the Mets still had him, they might not have Marlon Byrd or Eric Young, both of whom I’ve enjoyed watching this year… and who would’ve thought that the Mets would have a better record than the defending World Champions?

2012 Topps Heritage Hi-#'s Andres Torres

I like Kirk Nieuwenhuis enough to be able to spell his name without looking at the image.  Although I like him, I’ll freely admit that the dude needs to hit above the Mendoza Line if he wants to stick in the majors.

2012 Topps Heritage Hi-#'s Kirk Nieuwenhuis

In 1977 and 1978, the Twins had a minor leaguer named Bart Nieuwenhuis, but if he’s any relation to Kirk, baseball-reference.com isn’t telling.

Bart Nieuwenhuis went to Tombstone High in Huachuca City, AZ.  How cool would it be to go to Tombstone High?

Leave a Reply

