A 2014 Heritage Card Which Came To Me Through The Space/Time Rift In My Garage

A lot of people are surprised to find that, in the back of my garage just underneath the breaker panel, there’s a rift in time and space. It’s a small rift, as rifts go… but it’s big enough that small objects from up to 10 years in the future can fall back in time through it.

Don’t get this confused with the interdimensional rift I’d mentioned before; that rift is in my attic, it’s a completely different rift.

Anyway, this is the card which, just the other day, fell out of the rift in my garage…
2014 Schmeritage Brian McCann

I’m glad this particular card happened to fall through… Not that I care much about Brian McCann or the fact that he’ll apparently become a free agent and sign with the Yankees, but more because I love the 1965 design and I’m looking forward to next year’s Heritage.

I have to admit, I didn’t fully appreciate the design until 2003 Upper Deck Vintage paid “homage” to 1965.  Once I was able to buy a number of these cards and pull them from packs, I grew to appreciate the simple yet appealing look of these cards.  It’s probably my favorite 1960’s set – at the moment, anyway – and most likely in my Top 10 all-time, all-manufacturer base sets… not that I’ve ever made a list like that. But I’m sure it’s up there.

3 thoughts on “A 2014 Heritage Card Which Came To Me Through The Space/Time Rift In My Garage

  1. Pingback: A 2018 Heritage Card Which Came To Me Through The Space/Time Rift In My Garage | The Shlabotnik Report

Leave a Reply

