Fairfield – 1, Panini – 0

I had a long day at work yesterday, and I decided to stop at Target and buy me some cards even though I’ve already got two boxes of loose cards waiting for me to go through them and figure out which ones I want and which ones can go into one of my “out boxes” (Goodwill, Halloween & recycling).

I wasn’t sure what I was going to buy, but I was looking at the 100-card repacks and saw one that had two unopened packs in it, even though it’s not the kind that normally comes in pack.  I could tell one was 1989 Fleer (yay.) but the other was 2012 Topps Update, a set that I need to bulk up on.

I haven’t had the greatest luck with the last couple of repacks, but I wasn’t sure what else to get.  I’m holding off on 2013 Series 2 because I’m debating getting a wax box, and because Topps’ blasters all threatened me with far more red Target parallels than I can handle.

I glanced at a pack I hadn’t seen before:  Panini Cooperstown.  Hmmm.  Then I looked at the price:  $3.99 for 6 cards.  So for the same money I can get 6 cards or 100 cards?  Sorry, Panini, I’ve gotta go with the repack.

…And the repack did generously reward me for my faith.  I haven’t gone through all of the card or opened the 1989 pack, but so far I’ve got 20 “keepers” and that’s pretty durn good for one of these.

For my Mets collection, I got this Kevin Elster card with non-standard 1989 Donruss back;  looked it up and found that it’s a “Baseball’s Best” card.
1989 Donruss Baseballs Best Kevin Elster
I’ve been thinking about buying any cheap Baseball’s Best sets I find at shows, keeping the cards I want and tossing the rest.  In the meantime, I’ll hang on to this sucka.

I also got a bunch of Topps Glossy All-Star cards that I needed, most notably this addition to my wife’s Cal Ripken collection, for which I am the curator.
1991 Topps Glossy All Star Cal Ripken

I got a shiny Pedro which looks quite a bit nicer in person.
1999 Pacific Omega Diamond Masters Pedro Martinez

This card threw me for a second… It looks familiar, and yet not. Then I flipped it over and saw the card number is NYM1.
2008 Topps Mets Team Set Johan Santana
I don’t have the team set, so I need this card.  Santana’s regular Topps card uses the same photo in an un-photoshopped Twins uniform… which explains the “familiar yet not” part. I’m generally only interested in team set cards that are noticeably different from the regular card, so who knows, maybe this one card took care of all my 2008 Met needs.

I got a couple of cards from 1979 Topps, both in pretty nice shape:

1979 Topps Bud Harrelson

1979 Topps Don Robinson

All in all, I think I did OK with this pack, but maybe I should get an impartial opinion on this. Whaddaya say, “Blue”?

1990 TM Umpires Al Clark

Al Clark says I’m good, and who am I to argue with him?

4 thoughts on “Fairfield – 1, Panini – 0

  1. I have little love for Panini products (cards with airbrushed-out logos should be packaged with food items as a promo.) But you do seem to have done well with the re-pack.

    • Some of the Panini seems OK… But even if I bought the Cooperstown pack, it likely would’ve been “one and done”. The most money Panini’s gotten from me was last year’s Triple Play, and the novelty of that one wore off for me.

Leave a Reply

