Cardboard Justice For Donnie!

If someone’s got 8 years of major league experience behind them, you’d think they’d be on a baseball card, right?

What about a guy who’s been in over 275 games?  Topps must have a bunch of cards of him, wouldn’t you think?

But what if that guy has been in 275 games stretched out over 8 years?

Well… in that case…

Donnie Murphy is a 30-year-old utility infielder with the Cubs. He was drafted by the Royals in 2002, made his Major League debut 2 years later. He’s been with the Royals, A’s, Marlins and Cubs over 8 seasons, but has never appeared in more than 52 games in any given season. This year, he’s set a career high in plate appearances and home runs, and is having a pretty decent run with the Cubbies.

.. But I’ve looked in numerous places and it seems like this 2002 Bowman Draft Picks card and its parallels are his sole appearance on Nationally-distributed cardboard.

2002 Bowman Draft #BDP75 - Don Murphy RC (Rookie Card) - Courtesy of COMC.com

2002 Bowman Draft #BDP75 – Don Murphy RC (Rookie Card) – Courtesy of COMC.com

I got curious about him the other day when I was bringing my neglected “Current Rosters” binders up to date and had to insert a placeholder card for Donnie Murphy.  I said to myself “This guy’s been around for years, I can’t believe I don’t have a card for him yet.”

…So, I went looking on COMC and eBay and Zistle, and searched my own database, and all I could come up with was the one card.

Meanwhile there are guys who never got out of A-ball who have multiple base cards and inserts.  I’m telling you, there ain’t no justice.

So come on, Topps! You gave Adam Greenberg a card, what about Donnie Murphy?  I know it’s too late for this year’s Update set, but maybe you can see your way clear to giving him a 2014 card?

I’ll even kick off the festivities by giving him one of my own cards:
2013 TSR #691 - Donnie Murphy

Oh, and by the way… That 2002 Bowman card above? If you click on the photo, it’ll probably take you to a COMC page that says the card is sold out. That’s ’cause I bought it. World’s smallest PC!

3 thoughts on “Cardboard Justice For Donnie!

Leave a Reply

