2001 Upper Deck Confusion

Let’s meet our two contestants!

I’m Justin Pope, I’m a “Star Rookie” and card number 25 in the 2001 Upper Deck set.

2001 Upper Deck Prospect Premieres Justin Pope

2001 Upper Deck Prospect Premieres Justin Pope back

I’m Damian Rolls, I’m a “Star Rookie” and card number 25 in the 2001 Upper Deck set.

2001 Upper Deck Damian Rolls

2001 Upper Deck Damian Rolls back

This situation is something I had to deal with yesterday when I was organizing/purging my 2001 Upper Deck cards.  In 2001, I probably bought more packs of Upper Deck Prospect Premieres than I bought of the regular set.  I liked Prospect Premieres because it got me cards of players I didn’t already have cards for, and I could use them in my “40-man roster” binders.

Back in 2001 it wasn’t a problem;  I knew which pack I pulled them from.  But going back to them 12 years later and trying to figure out which cards were which?  Yeah, it was a bit of a challenge.

An aside to the card companies:  Please, please, please put a line of text on the back of each and every card, telling us which set it belongs to.

After sorting things out a bit, I realized the easiest method of telling them apart is looking for the stat line.  The base set has stats, Prospect Premieres does not (because there was no Major League experience to list).

When you have the cards side-by-side and do a little “contrast and compare”, the other differences are more obvious.  The foil on those Prospect Premieres cards are more of a bronze than gold, although it’s certainly not anything that jumps out at you.

The other differences I found are that the Prospect Premiere cards don’t have a MLBPA logo on the back, and don’t include the players uni number next to their position.

With all that information at hand, you can go back and tell that Justin Pope is from Prospect Premieres, and Damian Rolls is from the flagship Upper Deck set.

Now that we’ve sorted all that out, here are some 2001 Prospect Premieres cards of guys you may recognize…

Ricky Nolasco

2001 Upper Deck Prospect Premieres Ricky Nolasco

Ryan Howard

2001 Upper Deck Prospect Premieres Ryan Howard

Jacob “Jake” Peavy

2001 Upper Deck Prospect Premieres Jacob Peavy

4 thoughts on “2001 Upper Deck Confusion

  1. I recently ran into a situation while sorting old cards where I had two identical cards from the same set with different numbers. IIRC they were both Todd Helton cards from a late 90’s UD set. Exactly the same except that they had different numbers. I took a look at the checklist and one number was correct but the other of course belonged to a different player in the set. Not sure what happened there.

  2. “Please, please, please put a line of text on the back of each and every card, telling us which set it belongs to.”

    The last few years Upper Deck had an MLB license they include a line of text at the bottom of the back of card to help avoid this kind of confusion. Panini has started doing it this year, and I really wish Topps would do the same.

Leave a Reply

