I Am Definitely Not Collecting 1972 Topps… And I’m Making Good Progress!

1972 Topps baseball, a 787 card set with “real” high numbers, is such a daunting set to collect that even though I’ve been picking up cards from the set for 35+ years, I always told myself I wasn’t actually working on completing the set, I was just buying cards I liked.  I always took the attitude that I’d end up wherever I end up.

Sometime within in the lifespan of this blog (just about 2 years) I decided I would continue my general pattern of picking up cards here and there, but my official goal would be to finish Series 1 and see what happens from there.

A few months ago I completed Series 1 with this card of Billy Martin surreptitiously giving the photographer (and, consequently, all of us) the finger.

1972 Topps Billy Martin

I’d never been a fan of Billy Martin in the 49 different times he’d managed the Yankees, but from numerous stories I’ve heard about “Billy The Kid” over the years, I feel fairly safe in saying that the man was a bit of an arse.

…Anyway…

With Series 1 completed, I decided to work on series 2, and continue to accumulate any cheap cards from later series.  Well, I’ve now completed Series 2 with a number of cards like these:

1972 Topps Dave Giusti

1972 Topps Deron Johnson IA

I’ve also made progress on Series 3 and 4, and picked up some lovely, cheap 5th and 6th series cards.  At this point, I need 8 cards to complete the third series, and 16 cards to complete the fourth, plus I need only one high-numbered card to complete my Mets team set.

So at this point you’re probably asking if I’ve changed my goals and I’m working on completing the entire 1972 set.

Are you nuts?  It’s too hard!

13 thoughts on “I Am Definitely Not Collecting 1972 Topps… And I’m Making Good Progress!

  1. It’s a really nice set. I usually try to pick a few cards here and there, but at this rate it’ll be years before I have anything resembling a “set” or even completing one of the series.

  2. if you think the ’72 set is hard, try the ’71 set. Finding decent centering along with unfrayed borders and corners for ’71 Topps is hard and when you do find them, people want big $$$ for them.

    • I love the 1971 set as well, but for whatever reason I’m much closer to completing 1972 and 1970 than 1971. As you’ll see in an upcoming post, centering and corners is not a huge concern for me, I think a lot of it boils down to whatever happened to come my way.

      …But I hear you about the $$$… I might need only 8 cards for the 1972 3rd series, but two of the eight are Clemente and Aaron, and it’ll be a minor challenge to find them in my budget.

  3. When I finished the ’72 OPC set, I thought for a few moments that it might be nice to top it off with the missing cards that only Topps put forth (OPC stopped at #525). Then I found out just how tough those cards are….

  4. I am working on completing the 72 set and need 130 more cards to finish it. I have about 100 of the high numbers. My goal is to have it completed in the next 6 months.

  5. I just stumbled onto this. If you think not collecting the entire set is hard, try not collecting the entire set AUTOGRAPHED by the players. Granted, I’m not super picky about condition, but still, autographed. I have about 180 or so sigs of the 860-plus needed (multi-player rookie and league leader cards and all that).

      • Thanks! I know it’s going to be impossible because 14 cards have someone who died in the 1970s (3 Clemente, 2 Don Wilson, 2 Danny Frisella, 2 Thurman Munson, Jim McGlothin, Danny Thompson, Bob Moose, Mike McCormick, and Gil Hodges who died before his card was even released) so there probably aren’t many of their cards signed, and I really don’t want to pay $300 for each Willie Mays sig or $225 for Mike Marshall. But it’s fun just to see how far I can get.

Leave a Reply

