1976 SSPC: #105 Chris Speier (Giants) …And An End-Of-The-Regular-Season Sigh

Sigh.

So this is where we are this morning.

The regular season is now officially over and we’ve got just one game’s recap to look at.

No checking on my fantasy team.

No Mets and Orioles highlights to watch.

My football team, the Steelers, is 0-4.

Its been about 10 years since I got completely fed up with the NHL, and I never could get in to basketball.

So…

…um…

When do the Winter Olympics start?

OK, enough navel-gazing, let’s get on with our latest SSPC card.

1976 SSPC #105 Chris Speier

Chris Speier… played just one season in the minors and 19 years in the majors, mostly with the Giants and Expos, but also with the Cubs, Cardinals and Twins.  He was a three-time All-Star in the early  1970’s and was  named to the 1971 Topss All-Star Rookie team.  Speier is currently Dusty Baker’s bench coach on the Cincinnati Reds.

In 1976, Chris Speier… Was the starting shortstop for the Giants, batting .226 with 51 runs scored and 40 RBI.

Putting the words into the mouth of another blogger:
My guess at Night Owl‘s reaction to this card would be as follows…
It’s a night card! Yay!
It’s a San Francisco Giant card! Boo!

People forget that… Chris Speier’s son Justin was a reliever who spent 12 years in the Majors with (takes a deep breath) the Cubs, Marlins, Indians, Rockies, Blue Jays and Angels. He also spent 10 days on the Mets roster without appearing in any games.

1976 SSPC #105 Chris Speier back

3 thoughts on “1976 SSPC: #105 Chris Speier (Giants) …And An End-Of-The-Regular-Season Sigh

    • I still enjoy hockey, but my mistrust and dislike of the NHL goes beyond labor stoppages. My list generally starts with playing 80 games just to seed an overly-long playoff process, and goes from there.

      I got my hockey fix last year by watching NCAA hockey on – I think – NBC Sports Net, and I’ll be watching Olympic hockey come February.

Leave a Reply

