Joe Bought A Repack, And The Most Interesting Card He Got Was “Blank”…

The subject line should be read in the voice of the late Gene Rayburn, host of “Match Game”, the greatest game show the 1970’s had to offer.

The other morning I was feeling a little down… I’m not even sure why, but I just felt a bit dejected. Nobody was around at lunch, so I ate my sandwich and read a magazine.

Bleah.

That wasn’t working for me and since it was nice outside, I figured maybe I should go for a walk.

Bleah.

So what else was there to do? I drove over to the nearby Target and bought a repack.

Plenty of junk wax, of course. Only one Topps All-Star Glossy…
1989 Topps Glossy Gary Carter
…but if I’m only going to get one, at least it’s Gary Carter as a Met, and a card I needed.

I also got an Oriole knocked off of my very, very large wantlist:
1992 Upper Deck Gregg Olson

I got an autograph! Yay!
2005 Donruss Champions Autograph
This is the second autograph I’ve pulled from a repack in the past couple of months… Neither one was anybody I’m interested in, but I’ll take a signed card over another 1989 Fleer card any day.

As I was thumbing through all the junk wax, I ran across this:
Blank Cardboard #1

A blank piece of cardboard? WTF?

Then I turned it over…
Blank Cardboard #2

EXCELLENT!  A blank-front Dodgers Leaders card! Somebody in Q/A was snoozing on that day in 1989. This one’s definitely going in my 1989 binder!


I had been hoping for a Pirates/A’s World Series, but now my best-case scenario is Cardinals/Tigers… and to be honest, at this point I’m just hoping I don’t have to see the Red Sox & Dodgers, the matchup I least wanted to see.

Fox says they’d like to get they two biggest markets left, Boston vs. Los Angeles.

…or maybe Fox says “Ring-ding-ding-ding-ding-a-ding-a-ding…”

3 thoughts on “Joe Bought A Repack, And The Most Interesting Card He Got Was “Blank”…

  1. OMG – I was at the O’s game that shot of Olson was from. It was a “Turn-Back-The-Clock” game during the last season at Memorial Stadium in 1991. The O’s were in 1966 uniforms and they gave out ’66 style hats. I remembered Olson blowing the game but until I looked at the write up I hadn’t remembered all the details. The O’s were up 4-3 in the top of the ninth. Otter threw three wild pitches and ended up giving up five runs to lose the game. (I think the card shows him unsuccessfully trying to prevent Mike Pagliarulo from scoring on one of them) I remember hearing he ripped off his uniform and threw it in the trash after the game. The O’s didn’t do another turn-back-the-clock game for years.

    IIRC correctly Olson had horrible numbers in day games although this might have been an extreme case.

    • Excellent! Thanks for sharing that! It’s funny, as I was posting the card I was thinking that might be a good card to figure out what game it’s from… Play at the plate involving a Twin and Greg Olson, how hard can that be? Now I don’t have to worry about it.

      Actually, I remember hearing about Olson throwing out his throwback as well. I wonder if that was based on the way it fit, or just superstition.

Leave a Reply

