Missed Topp-ortunity – 1972 Topps “Traded” Minis

For Series 1 and 2 this year, Topps included an insert set that was “mini” versions of the 1972 design. Why they were minis instead of full-sized 1972’s… Well, I have a thought or two about minis, but I’ll save it for another time.

When the Update Series came out, the minis suddenly became 1971 minis. Don’t know why, at this point I’m not sure I care.

But I did have a thought about that… how completely awesome would it have been if they made a third series of 1972 minis AND some of them were made up as “Traded” cards?
1972 Topps Traded Faux Mini Marlon Byrd

Abso-freakin’-lutely awesome, that’s how awesome it would’ve been.

Side Note #1: A Pirates “Traded” card should have blue and gold borders, but I started out with a Jim Fregosi traded card, and as it is I spent way too much time on this custom.

Side Note #2:  This was almost a Jake Peavy card, but the best photos I could find were recent World Series shots and the black “TRADED” stamp blends into nighttime game shots quite nicely, thank you very much…  just a little FYI for my fellow custom makers

One thought on “Missed Topp-ortunity – 1972 Topps “Traded” Minis

Leave a Reply

