I Bought Them For The Cartoons

Back in when I was young and single and would buy the occasional “adult magazine”, I’d joke with friends that I bought Playboy for the cartoons.  Now I wouldn’t deny that I enjoyed — *ahem* — everything the magazine had to offer, but there was truth behind my joke because the cartoons were the reason I bought Playboy as opposed to other published “men’s entertainment”. Playboy always had a bunch of cartoons, and naturally they were raunchy… but man, they were often pretty damn funny.

The main reason I mention that is because I was recently at a show, looking through some cheap vintage cards, and I did something I’d never done before – I bought a couple of cards specifically because I liked the cartoons on the back.

First up is the cartoon for Lenny Green’s card. I think I’m developing a crush on “Sally”, the cartoon embodiment of the South Atlantic League of the 1950’s & 1960’s.

1965 Topps Lenny Green Back

For anybody who’s seen the British TV show “Red Dwarf”, it’s kind of like Lister’s unnatural longing for a certain cartoon character… “This is crazy! Why are we talking about going to bed with Wilma Flintstone?”

I suppose you might want to see the front of the card, eh?

1965 Topps Lenny Green

Without the cartoon on the back, this card is just a common I have no real connection to… other than being a 1965 Topps card, something you can never have enough of.

I love this next cartoon for its sheer goofiness:

1965 Topps Lou Klimchock back

I have a bit more of a connection to Klimchock than to Green; Lou Klimchock briefly played for my Mets in 1966, having a grand total  of 5 pinch-hit AB’s. It may not have been much, but it got him a high-numbered card in a Mets uniform… and because that’s the way things go, that card pictures him fielding a ball, something he never actually did with the Mets.

Here’s what he looked like with the Milwaukee Braves.  It’s mildly disappointing that he doesn’t actually have 6 arms.

1965 Topps Lou Klimchock

These cards make me think one other thing:  I’m really looking forward to 2014 Heritage.


Oh, before I end this, there was something else…

…not a big deal, just something I wanted to mention…

Today is the second anniversary of The Shlabotnik Report! Yay! Waiter, bring us a bottle of the finest Coca-Cola you have!

Rather than looking back or looking forward, I would just like to say “Thank you” to everybody who’s been reading and to everybody who’s left comments.  In all honesty, it wouldn’t be any fun without you.

3 thoughts on “I Bought Them For The Cartoons

Leave a Reply

