You Don’t Get A New Beatles Album Just Any Day… Month… Year…

For those of you who may not have heard, this week will see the release of “On Air: Live At The BBC, Volume 2”, a new compilation of songs the Beatles performed live in studio at the British Broadcasting Company. This album is a follow-up to 1994’s “Live At The BBC”.

1964 Topps Beatles Color #40

For me, the best part of the original BBC album was the songs that had not been on any official Beatles releases before, generally covers of other people’s songs: “Some Other Guy”, “I Got To Find My Baby”, “I Just Don’t Understand” and “I’m Gonna Sit Right Down And Cry”, just as a few examples.

Unfortunately, most of the songs along those lines were on the first release; this new one has some songs that had never been on an official Beatles release, but for the most part it’s new versions of Beatles songs, with some duplication between the two albums.

1964 Topps Beatles B&W #81
The second-best part of the first album is the goofy spoken bits in between tracks; it looks like there are more on this album, but again, they may have gone through all the best bits on the first album.

Although the recording quality is a bit inconsistent and in mono, we’ve already got everything else released by the Beatles and I’ll be running out this week to get my copy.  If nothing else, it’s “Something New”.

1964 OPC Beatles B&W #13

The cards I have pictured here are Topps cards from 1964… OK, fine, the card just above is an O-Pee-Chee card, not like you could tell the difference from the front.  I’m not exactly collecting the various series, but I sometimes pick up cheap cards when I find them.

I didn’t bother scanning the back of the black & white cards, because they’re largely blank with a box containing the bare minimum information – card #, “2nd Series”, “Printed In U.S.A.”.  If you’ve seen the back of the deckle-edge baseball cards from 1969 or 1974, or the 2012 Archives version, then you’ve got an idea of what the backs are like.

The color cards have text on the back which reads like bits of interviews with the Beatles, but I can’t help wonder if it’s really just a Topps employee from Edison, New Jersey who made it seem Beatle-y by throwing the occasional British slang word in.

1964 Topps Beatles Color #45 back


A message to readers of The Shlabotnik Report: I’ve noticed that many of the blogrolls show my most recent post as being from this past Friday, but as you may have noticed, that is decidedly not the case.

Please be aware that I publish every day, usually around 7am EST, so if I’m not showing up on the blogroll of your choice, please don’t think that I’ve abandoned you.

Thank you,

Joe S.

2 thoughts on “You Don’t Get A New Beatles Album Just Any Day… Month… Year…

  1. I’ve enjoyed Volume 2 so far, and I agree that it’s always nice to receive “new” Beatles music. Speaking of which . . . Paul’s solo album New is very good as well.

Leave a Reply

