“Hot Stove” Custom – Brayan Peña Signs With The Reds

I did this custom of Brayan Peña as a bit of a challenge to myself.

2013-14 TSR Hot Stove #4 - Brayan Pena

BTW, for those of you who might be new to this blog, this is the second custom card from my “Hot Stove” set reflecting off-season changes.  The card’s design is based on the 1959 Bazooka set.

I originally had a Brad Ausmus custom lined up for this week, but after having a Matt Williams custom last week, I wasn’t sure I wanted to have another manager right away.  The main problem with that thought is there hasn’t been much player movement so far.

Brayan Peña was the first player of any significance to change teams, having come to terms with the Reds over the weekend and finalizing the deal on Tuesday.  I like Peña, so I had no problems with taking the time to make a custom… but I wasn’t sure if I could take a navy blue Tigers cap and turn it into a Reds cap.

So just for grins, I took a “Photo Day” image of Peña from last spring, messed around a hell of a lot with hue/saturation as well as brightness/contrast, and when I was done, I looked at it, nodded approvingly and said to myself “That does not suck!”

Just to “Cincinnati it up” a little more, I changed the background so that it shows Great American Ballpark instead of a plain backdrop.

Peña signed a 2-year contract and is slated to be the backup to Devin Mesoraco, a job that Ryan Hanigan held in 2013.  All three are currently on the Reds’ 40-man roster, so expect Hanigan to be moving sometime before opening day.

Next week’s custom may be Brad Ausmus… or Marlon Byrd, who signed with the Phillies today… or someone else that neither you or I know about just yet.  We shall see.

7 thoughts on ““Hot Stove” Custom – Brayan Peña Signs With The Reds

  1. Pingback: Random Awesomeness (part 152) | The Writer's Journey

Leave a Reply

