Right, Soooooooo… Where Was I?

Those of you who do all their blog surfing through blogrolls might’ve wondered where I’ve been.  Truth is, I’ve been here but the proverbial “technical difficulties” have kept me from appearing on blogrolls.  I’ve been posting at least once a day for all of November, so if you thought I fell off the face of the earth, you might want to go back and check out what you’ve missed.

I’d like to thank the esteemed Mr. Nachos Grande for his help on the matter.  It looks like pasting documents straight from Word into the post was causing problems.  Why it hadn’t caused similar problems in the previous 2 years I’d been doing the exact same thing is beyond me… I guess things reached critical mass or something.  For now I’ll keep my fingers crossed that the problem’s been sorted out.

Before I move on, let’s pause for a brief image…

1992 Post Cal Ripken

For the past few days, I’ve been spending a heck of a lot of time on card-related activities that didn’t involve touching any cards or writing about them.  Aside from obsessing over my blogroll issues, I’ve also been getting ready for COMC’s Black Friday.  I’ve been updating my wantlists for a day of shopping, and I’ve also been pricing the nearly 500 cards that just entered my inventory.

COMC is encouraging all of it’s sellers to have a sale for this weekend, and I’ll be participating.  They’ll also have shipping without paying the handling charge, give store credit for buying and shipping a minimum amount of purchases, and be giving away Cyber Monday shopping sprees.

Among the cards I’ve just added to my inventory are oddballs like the Cal pictured above, plus vintage cards, parallels and inserts (many from 2013), manupatches, vintage, rookies and pre-rookies, oddballs, 1970′s O-Pee-Chee baseball, 1976 SSPC, hockey, basketball, football, even Donruss Truckin’ cards.  Check it out here, but you might want to wait until Friday to actually start  your shopping.

…and don’t hesitate to make me an offer;  I’ve got 490 cards I priced based on half of book value;  I don’t know if I’ll have a chance before Friday to check for entry mistakes or whether 50% book is reasonable, so… like I said, make an offer.  I’m going to be shopping on Friday, and checking my account regularly over the weekend.

If anybody else is selling on COMC, feel free to leave your seller ID in the comments;  when I can, I always like to buy from people I know.

Pause for a breath and another image…

1971 Topps Gary Gentry

Yesterday at lunch I bought a 100-card repack and went through the cards while sitting in my car, but the cards are sitting on my kitchen table, still in the torn-open plastic shell case.  That’s the kind of week it’s been — I didn’t even get around to pulling out the 1988 Donruss cards and throwing them in the recycling!

I plan to be back to business as usual tomorrow… Maybe I’ll get a chance to make the Ian Kinsler custom to go with the Prince Fielder I posted on Monday.

I hope everybody has a happy Thanksgiving and a happy Hannukah.  Drive safe if you’re driving.

2 thoughts on “Right, Soooooooo… Where Was I?

  1. Some of my posts have been delayed by as much as 12 hours on blogrolls… but I haven’t figured out why. I never cut/paste, so my issue is something else. I’ll be forever indebted to whoever solves this riddle.

Leave a Reply

