For These Sets, I Am Thankful

This is hardly the most original post to be writing today, but it’s been a long 3-day workweek and I’m tired.

When it comes to me and baseball cards, everything starts with 1974. It was my first set, and you know how they say “You never forget your first”.

On top of that, how can you top a guy nicknamed “No Neck” standing in original Yankee stadium?

Speaking of “You never forget your first”, in observance of the recent 50th anniversary of the TV show Doctor Who, I’ll mention that Doctor #4, Tom Baker, was my first Doctor…  PBS in the last 1970’s.  I’ll write more about that someday…

Also speaking of firsts, my first vintage oddball obsession was with 1964 Topps Giant cards.  Big, beautiful, unappreciated cards of 1960’s star players, it just gives me a warm glow in my heart.

1964 Giant Jim Gentile

I got started on this set when I found a Mickey Mantle for $3.  Yes, this was in the 1980’s, but even then $3 wouldn’t get you anywhere near a regular Topps Mantle.

1975 Topps comes a very close second to 1974 when you’re talking about sets for which I am thankful.  Some years ago, but still in our adult years, my friend Arthur and I were in his parents’ basement, and he found some 1975 Topps.   I told him to show me just the top third of each card, and I would guess at who was on the card.

1975 Topps Jim Slaton

Arthur was surprised (and probably a little concerned) that I could identify each and every card.  I’m not sure I could still do it, but I’d be willing to give it a try.

I’m thankful that I can keep myself happy even by collecting players that I have no real connection to other than that he grew up in a town near where I grew up.

2005 Donruss Frank Catalanotto
…but this post is supposed to be about sets, isn’t it? Sorry, I’ll get back on track now.

I’m thankful for 1977 O-Pee-Chee baseball, for giving me different 1970’s cards to chase, long after I’d completed the 1974-1978 Topps sets.
1977 OPC Pete Mackanin

Finally, I’m thankful for cards like this one:

2013 Topps Update Alberto Callaspo

…and I’m thankful because it’s among the latest releases, and as long as there are cards being sold in retail stores, I will buy them and I’ll be thankful that the “Death Of The Hobby”, which has been labeled as “imminent” for quite a long while, has not yet come.

Happy Thanksgiving, everybody!

Leave a Reply

