Personalized Trading Cards… Just Like “Pros!”

While scanning some 1979-80 Topps Hockey team stickers for a future post, I was amused by the sticker backing which offered personalized trading cards!
1979-80 Topps Hockey Sticker Back

The offer of 20 custom cards for $6.95 seems fairly reasonable to me, but I wasn’t sure if I was looking at it through 2013 eyes.  According to the U.S. Bureau Of Labor Statistics’ website, $6.95 in 1979 money is equivalent to $22.39 now.  Still seems like an OK offer, but I’m sure that $6.95 was a lot of money for a kid in 1979, especially when you had to go to your  parents to get the dreaded “check or money order”.

…and what did they do with all those unreturned photos?  Were they just thrown away, or did Topps keep a hoard of them in their files?  At some point in the future, will we look at a Topps Vault auction and see a photo of little Stevie Ketzler of Edison, New Jersey?

Has anybody written a post about their own “personalized trading card”?  I’d love to see it;  post a link in the comments!

…and now it’s…

…Shameless self-promotion time!!!

I’m one of many COMC sellers who is having a promotion this weekend.  To quote from an old TV commercial, it’s Joe Shlabotnik’s greatest Black Friday sale EEEEEEEEVERRRRRRRRRR!!!!

Check it out here.

All of my 1000+ cards are discounted!  Vintage!  Parallels!  Inserts!  Manupatches!  Rookies!  Oddballs!  1970′s O-Pee-Chee baseball!  1976 SSPC!  Hockey!  Basketball!  Football!  You name it, there’s a somewhat reasonable chance I might have it!

My promotion runs through Cyber Monday (12/2/2013).

Please don’t hesitate to make me an offer;  A lot of what I have for sale just entered my inventory and was priced solely against of book value.  If book value turns out to be completely pie in the sky, then make me an offer.

COMC also has some nice promotions going… waived shipping fees, chances to earn and/or win store credit… more information here

And to wrap up this Black Friday post, I’ll list  my 5 favorite songs with “Black” in the title:

  • Back In Black – AC/DC
  • Blackbird – The Beatles
  • Black Dog – Led Zeppelin
  • Black Coffee In Bed – Squeeze
  • Deep Black – Smithereens

Happy shopping, everybody!

2 thoughts on “Personalized Trading Cards… Just Like “Pros!”

  1. My personalized trading cards were a lot more expensive than that ;-(

    I’ll definitely check out your cards on COMC. I spent over an hour on their site adding cards to several different PCs.

    My favorite song with “Black” in the title is Fade to Black by Metallica… one of my favorite songs of all-time.

  2. I make personalized trading cards for high school student athletes and their teams (varsitytradingcards.com), and they’re a bit more than $22, but a TON more goes into the cards than the plain boxiness of those 79-80s.

Leave a Reply

