“Hot Stove” Custom – Tigers obtain Ian Kinsler From Texas

Here’s the counterpart to the Prince Fielder custom I posted last week.  I feel fairly confident that, unlike the Rangers, the Tigers have not made modifications to their uniform, causing my custom to look somewhat anachronistic.

2013-14 TSR Hot Stove #8 - Ian Kinsler

BTW, for those of you who might be new to this blog, this is another in a series custom cards reflecting off-season changes.  The card’s design is based on the 1959 Bazooka set.

The Tigers are certainly having an interesting offseason…  The Fielder/Kinsler trade,  sending Doug Fister to the Nationals, signing Joe Nathan, hiring Brad Ausmus as their manager.  It’s certainly a contrast to a good number of other teams which have done basically nothing so far.

I would like to send my apologies to the city of Detroit;  more specifically to the owners of the building I have obliterated from the city skyline.  I’m sorry, but it just looked cluttered behind Kinsler’s head with the building there.  Hopefully I didn’t displace too many people with my wanton destruction.

I feel kinda like Marvin The Martian here… “Oh, I’m going to blow it up.  It obstructs my view of Venus…”    Just don’t any of you try to steal my Illudium Q-36 Explosive Space Modulator… I’ve got my eye on each and every one of you.


Secrets of the computer graphics amateurs!

The only things I did on this custom that I hadn’t done on all the others was to play with the “Warp Brush” tool in Paint Shop Pro.  The piping on the jersey was actually borrowed from another image, and I used the Warp Brush to kind of “push” the piping around to better match Kinsler’s jersey.

Leave a Reply

