1976 SSPC #349 – Steve Rogers (Expos)… and QUISP!!!!

1976 SSPC #349 Steve Rogers
Steve Rogers… was one of the more dominating pitchers of the late 1970’s and spent his entire 13 year career with the Expos.  He was an All-Star five times, lead the NL in ERA in 1982, and was a runner-up in Cy Young voting (1982 – Steve Carlton won) and Rookie Of the Year (1973 – Gary Matthews won).

In three postseason starts (all in 1981), he went 3-0 with a shutout of the Phillies in Game 5 of the NLDS.  His only postseason loss unfortunately came in a relief appearance in Game 5 of the NLCS;  he gave up a homer to Rick Monday in the 9th, and the Dodgers would go on to win the game 2-1 and the series 3-2.

Rogers holds the Expos/Nationals all-time career records for games started, innings pitched, complete games and shutouts.  He’s also tied with three others for most shutouts in a season (5).

In 1976, Steve Rogers… lead the NL in losses, going 7-17 for an awful Expos team which finished with 107 losses.  Four of his seven wins were shutouts.

Shea-o-meter:  I think this is Shea, but I can’t be sure.
Shea:  27
Pretty sure it’s Shea:  6
Can’t tell:  5
Not Shea:  5

Betcha didn’t know… Steve Rogers pitched a one-hit shutout in his second Major League game, and pitched another shutout in his third.

1976 Joe says… I love the goofy expression!

2013 Joe says… I love the goofy expression!

Cardboard History: Steve Rogers’ rookie card was in 1974 Topps, and he’s one of the players whose 1977 O-Pee-Chee card has a different photo than  his Topps card.

1976 SSPC #349 Steve Rogers back

Cereal From 1976:

I was in the supermarket the other night, and I ran a display featuring a brand of cereal which I ate an awful lot of in the 1970’s:
Quisp!

I think it’s been two years since I’ve seen this in a store. If I remember correctly, it’s been sold online for quite a while, and I guess my local supermarket trots it out every year or two to see if it takes off.

For those who are cartoon geeks like I am, Daws Butler was the voice of Quisp in the commercials.

5 thoughts on “1976 SSPC #349 – Steve Rogers (Expos)… and QUISP!!!!

Leave a Reply

