Faux 1940 Play Ball Card Of Roy Hobbs

I got this card, which is based on the 1940 Play Ball set, at a show sometime in the 1980’s…
Faux Play Ball Roy Hobbs

Cards like this made a brief appearance in “The Natural”.  There was a scene where you saw sheets of these cards being printed as evidence of Roy Hobbs growing popularity. I doubt that my card was on one of the sheets which appeared in the movie, but hey, you never know.

This card is on fairly thin, white cardboard and is blank-backed.

The original Play Ball cards weren’t in color… here’s an example, courtesy of the fine people at COMC:

1940 Play Ball #203 - Bad News Hale RC (Rookie Card) [Good to VG‑EX] - Courtesy of COMC.com

1940 Play Ball #203 – Bad News Hale RC (Rookie Card) [Good to VG‑EX] – Courtesy of COMC.com

The Natural was a good movie, but by far what I like most about it was the visual detail involved.  It’s an OK movie to watch, but a fantastic movie to look at, if you get my distinction.

What I particularly love about the movie are the amazingly beautiful New York Knights uniforms.  I liked them so much that I bought a Knights cap from Ebbets Field Flannels some years ago.  It’s an fantastic cap, made with wool flannel and shaped like a vintage ballcap. Unfortunately I think my head has gotten slightly larger – does that happen? – because the hat is tight on my head and I can’t wear it more than a few minutes before it starts to give me a headache.  Pity, because I used to enjoy wearing it to shows.

6 thoughts on “Faux 1940 Play Ball Card Of Roy Hobbs

  1. Just picked up a few of these 1940 playballs. The 1939 playballs were also black and white. In my opinion the 1941 color Playballs are some of the nicest cards ever produced.

  2. People never believe me but your head does get bigger when you gain weight. I have about 20 fitted caps and as soon as I reach a certain weight some of my size 7’s get tight enough that I can’t wear them.

  3. Pingback: Fun Cards: 1933 Goudey Pop Fisher | The Writer's Journey

Leave a Reply

