1976 SSPC #369 – Gene Michael (Tigers… Tigers?!? Tigers!)

I will say right up front that this card weirded the heck out of me when I first saw it, and it continues to weird me out… I will explain below…
1976 SSPC #369 Gene Michael

Gene “Stick” Michael… has been, for all intents and purposes, a lifelong Yankee.  He played 7 years in the Bronx, 5 as the starting shortstop.  He managed the Yankees in 1981 and 1982, and put in two different stints as the Yankee GM.  He’s also filled a number of other positions in the Yankee front office.  Yes, he played a number of years in the Pirates organization and also played for the Dodgers and Tigers, and managed the Cubs, but in my mind he’s a Yankee… Which is why this card weirds me out… I’d never seen a picture of him as a Tiger before.

In 1976, Gene Michael… had signed a contract with the Red Sox, but never played for them or any other MLB team.

This card is… not Gene Michael’s finest photographical moment… and for some reason, when I see this photo I think of Eric Idle.

Shea-o-meter:   There might be just enough in the background to label this as Shea, but I’m putting it down as “Can’t tell”.
Shea:  27
Pretty sure it’s Shea:  6
Can’t tell:  6
Not Shea:  5

Betcha didn’t know… In 1968, Gene pitched the final 3 innings of a 10-2 Yankee loss to the Angels in the 2nd game of a doubleheader.  He gave up 5 runs in the 8th, but none of them were earned.  I thought maybe the Yankees went through a lot of pitchers in the first game of the doubleheader, but Fritz Petersen threw a complete game as the Yankees won 6-1.

SSPC vs. Topps: Gene Michael did not appear on a Topps card in 1976;  his final appearance on a Topps card as an active player came in 1975.

1976 SSPC #369 Gene Michael back

One thought on “1976 SSPC #369 – Gene Michael (Tigers… Tigers?!? Tigers!)

Leave a Reply

