What Has To Happen For The Steelers To Make The Playoffs (Plus Several 2013 Bowman Steeler Rookies)

I’ve been a Steelers fan for 30 years, through thick and thin, and I’m a bit chagrined to admit that I wrote them off after they started the season 0-4. I still say they don’t really deserve to make the playoffs, but here we are in week 17 and they have a slim chance… but they had an even slimmer chance last weekend, and everything worked out as it needed to, so ya never know.

BTW, all of the cards that accompany this post are 2013 Bowman cards I bought on a whim during COMC Black Friday festivities.

For the Steelers to earn the 6th seed through a series of tiebreakers which I can’t say I understand…

Naturally, the Steelers, who are at home, have to beat the Browns.
2013 Bowman Football Jarvis Jones

The Ravens will have to lose to the host Bengals.

2013 Bowman Football Landry Jones

The Dolphins have to lose to the Jets in Miami…

2013 Bowman Football Le'Veon Bell

…And the Chargers have to lose to the Chiefs in San Diego

2013 Bowman Football Markus Wheaton

If all of those games go the Steelers’ way, then the Steelers, Ravens, Dolphins and Chargers will be tied with an 8-8 record, and the Steelers get in via tiebreakers that, as I said, I don’t fully understand so I won’t even attempt to elaborate… Needless to say, if the Steelers DO make it in, there will be a number of articles about how the tiebreakers shook out.

The Steelers/Browns game isn’t on TV where I live, so I’ll probably spend the afternoon checking in on the games which are on local  TV.

2 thoughts on “What Has To Happen For The Steelers To Make The Playoffs (Plus Several 2013 Bowman Steeler Rookies)

  1. They almost pulled it out. I was actually rooting for them and I’m a Pats fan. Dislike of the Dolphins, Ravens and Chargers. If the Chiefs had only played their starters.

    • It’s like the saying “every time you point your finger at someone, there are three more fingers pointing back at you”. With the Steelers, it starts with “Well, if they beat the Raiders like they should have”, and moves on from there.

      Given how awful the team looked the first month of the season, I’m satisfied with an 8-8 record. We’ll see what happens next year.

Leave a Reply

