“Hot Stove” Custom – Carlos Beltrán Turns To The Dark Side

So, it’s been about three weeks since Carlos Beltrán officially signed with the Yankees, even longer since it became known that he would be playing his home games in Yankee Stadium Mark III.
2013-14 TSR Hot Stove #9 - Carlos Beltran

…and you know what? I’m still pretty pissed off about it.

This isn’t the usual “I’m tired of the Yankees throwing money around like rock salt on a frozen sidewalk” (to use a topical simile).

This one feels a little like betrayal… sure, “betrayal” is a little stronger than I actually mean, but I can’t think of anything better.

This feels like I’ve got the voice of someone’s sobbing mother in my head…  “I whole-heartedly cheered for you when you were with the Mets… I never said a word against you when the 2006 NLCS ended with you taking a called third strike with the bases loaded… I cheered for the Cardinals last year just because you had never been to the World Series… I always include the accent mark over the “A” in your last name…

“To think of all the things  I’ve done… All that I’ve sacrificed…

“…AND THIS IS THE THANKS I GET!!!

At this point, I’m thinking the best-case scenario from my own selfish standpoint would be season-ending injuries to Carlos and Brian Roberts (assuming his deal ever becomes official), thus sparing me the anguish of seeing two players I collect wearing the wrong-colored pinstripes.

I hope the two of your are satisfied… breaking my heart like that…

So, what do you think?  Are there any maternal guilt trips I should’ve included in my little rant?

Oh, almost forgot… Just for grins, I created a 1/1 Magenta Printing Plate for this custom:

2013-14 TSR Hot Stove #9 - Carlos Beltran Magenta

I’ll try to make sure the next custom card comes with less angst and guilt.

…And speaking of the next custom…

Favorite Player On The Move?  Favorite Team Make A New Addition?

Would you like to see what a player will look like in his new uniform?  Make a request in the comments below, and I’ll do what I can to make one of my “Hot Stove” customs of your player! *

*Offer based on availability of images and abilities of the blogger.  No purchase necessary.  Void Where Prohibited.  Your results may vary.  Not to be taken internally.  If rash or swelling occurs, discontinue use.
One thought on ““Hot Stove” Custom – Carlos Beltrán Turns To The Dark Side

  1. I feel your pain. I’m a Cards fan, and was crushed when he went over to the evil empire. Heck, they couldn’t even give him a hitter’s uni number, they issued him #36! Just looks weird to see him in pinstripes of New York–that aren’t the Mets.

Leave a Reply

