“Hot Stove” Custom – Dodgers Sign Haren To Fill Out Rotation

Going in to the offseason, the Dodgers were supposed to sign Masahiro Tanaka and Robinson Cano and Brian McCann and Matt Garza and Ervin Santana and — what the heck, sign Bronson Arroyo to a 5 year contract just to be the batting practice pitcher and clubhouse guitarist.

None of that has happened.  I don’t mean this to be critical, it’s more a reflection of how people have come to expect the Dodgers to throw money around.

They did sign Dan Haren to a one-year contract, a move that would’ve been a bit more noteworthy had it happened five years ago.

2013-14 TSR Hot Stove #17 - Dan Haren

…and I can’t think of anything else to write about Dan Haren, the Dodgers or this particular custom card, so I’ll just share a couple of unrelated thoughts…

Back at the end of July I gave a positive review of the 2013 Baseball Hall Of Fame Desk Calendar.  I enjoyed the calendar so much that I also bought the 2014 calendar… but I have to admit it’s been a little disappointing so far because the calendar has been using some of the same images as was used in 2013.  Obviously not an issue if you didn’t buy the 2013 calendar… but just something I wanted to mention.

One other thing I want to mention:  Topps hates me.

I’ve been looking to buy a single wax pack of 2014 Topps all week, and three different Targets had nothing.  Last night I found a Wal-Mart that had 2014 Topps, and they had blasters, hanger packs, rack packs, every conceivable configuration… except for the single wax pack that I was looking to buy.  Why just a single pack?  I’ll get into that when I write about the pack I do buy, but I’m sure you’ve all got an idea or two.  Here’s a hint:  I’m not completely skipping the 2014 flagship.

Oh, one final thing:  I got the moves like Jagger.

Leave a Reply

