A Set Completed Largely Through Repacks – 1990 Topps All-Star Glossies

I guess it’s a sign that I buy too many repacks, because now I’ve completed a 22-card insert set almost entirely through repacks.

The 1990 Topps All-Star Glossy cards were inserts in rack packs, and commemorated the prior year’s All-Star starting lineups, which is why the set from 1990 says “1989” at the top. Wouldn’t want you to think I’m completely clueless. Largely clueless, perhaps, but not completely clueless.

These are the three cards I’ve had all along… I don’t remember for sure, but these probably all got pulled from rack packs back in 1990.
1990 Topps All-Star Glossy Sandberg Jackson Yastrzemski
I’d pulled a duplicate Sandberg from a repack, and it’s currently being used as a placeholder in the “Phillies Manager” spot of my NL East Current Rosters binder… It was the most readily-available Sandberg at the time he replaced Charlie Manuel.

I’m pretty sure I’ve also pulled Bo and Yaz out of repacks, but I’m not 100% certain.

These glossy sets aren’t bad, but during the past 20 years I never really thought about them as anything more than team- or player-collection material. Then I started getting a ton through repacks, and just kept getting more until I realized I needed just the Cal Ripken card to complete this particular set.

Here’s the rest of the set.

1990 Topps All-Star Glossy Johnson Clark Lasorda
1990 Topps All-Star Glossy Davis Mitchell Smith
1990 Topps All-Star Glossy Reuschel Santiago Gwynn
1990 Topps All-Star Glossy McGwire LaRussa Drysdale
1990 Topps All-Star Glossy Puckett Boggs Franco
1990 Topps All-Star Glossy Sierra Steinbach Stewart

…and here’s the last card I needed for the set, one I picked up in a repack this past week:
1990 Topps All-Star Glossy Cal Ripken

Here’s the breakdown of the set by team:
A’s: 4 cards
Giants: 3 cards
Padres, Rangers, Red Sox, Dodgers: 2 cards
Royals, Cubs, Twins, Cardinals, Reds, Mets, Orioles: 1 card

I need 4 cards to complete the 1991 All-Star glossy set; if I make it all the way through that one, then this post will have a follow-up.

5 thoughts on “A Set Completed Largely Through Repacks – 1990 Topps All-Star Glossies

  1. I actually like these cards. I will have to go through and see if I can put a set together. All the different years kind of get thrown into one big pile

    • I may have sold the cards a little short in the original post… In my current state of purgedom, I wouldn’t be keeping them in the first place if I didn’t like them… I just never liked these cards quite enough to seek them out.

Leave a Reply

