Everything’s Coming Up Repacks!!! (As Sung By Ethel Merman)

This past weekend I was looking to buy something repack-y and decided to shake things up… Instead of my usual 100-card repacks, I bought a “20 packs for $20” repack, half-expecting that the 19 unseen packs in the box would be 1989 Fleer and Upper Deck Documentary.

I got home, opened it up and much to my surprise, my packs did not suck… In fact, they were quite nice (except for the fact that they’ve undoubtedly been felt and searched a hundred times over).

Here’s the breakdown from least interesting to most interesting:

  • 6 packs of 2008 UD First Edition Update (almost completely useless to me;  I don’t want them, and they’re too old to give to the neighborhood kids at Halloween).
  • 4 packs of 2013 Topps Opening Day (Hopefully some inserts and/or mascots for me;  everything else goes in the “Halloween box”)
  • 1 pack of 2003 Flair (I don’t even know what to expect of this, I have absolutely no memory nor knowledge of this set)
  • 2 packs of 1990 Upper Deck (At the very least, a fun open)
  • 2 packs of 2012 Heritage (which are not as obviously resealed as some repacked Heritage I’ve gotten in my day)
  • 3 packs of 2012 Topps Series One. (Welcome as I’m still working on the set)
  • 1 rack pack of 2012 Topps Series Two. (ditto)
  • 1 rack pack of 2013 Topps Series Two. (ditto)

So not a bad little haul…  I may not get $20 worth of value, but there is stuff of some value, and I’ll have some fun with it.  I’ll share the more interesting cards with you at some later time.

Oh, one other thing…  For my $20 I was promised 20 packs and one “hit”.

I was expecting a signature from some failed prospect, but instead I got this:

2002 Upper Deck Collectors Club Alex Rodriguez Bat

No, I didn’t use the wrong image by mistake, I got an Alex Rodriguez relic card… and it was loose between two packs, without so much as a penny sleeve to protect it.

I know A-Rod’s stock has fallen tremendously, and I know that this piece of “bat” could conceivably be a small piece of a broken chair retrieved from Richard McWilliams’ parents’ basement, but still…

An A-Rod relic.

…as a repack bonus.

That’s just sad.


And now, for your listening pleasure, here’s Ethel Merman singing “Everything’s Coming Up Roses”!

…or for somebody’s listening pleasure… Certainly not mine, I don’t care for Ethel Merman or for the song.  But here it is anyway!

3 thoughts on “Everything’s Coming Up Repacks!!! (As Sung By Ethel Merman)

    • I can’t say I disagree with you; $20 is more than I would usually spend, but I wanted to bust some wax and there weren’t many other options for me right now.

      My follow-up post — probably sometime next week — will address whether or not this was worth the $20.

Leave a Reply

