It’s All Right Here In My Box Set: 1988 Toys “R” Us Rookies

Not too long ago, I had a revelation that was somewhere between a head-slap and a light bulb over the head.

I’d been hunting down individual cards I wanted from certain box sets from the 1980’s and 1990’s when I came to a realization: Why should I hunt down singles when you can get the entire box set for a buck? Shell out the dollar, keep the ones I want, get rid of the rest. Duh.

So, with that in mind, here’s the first box set I bought as part of that heavenly-choir-singing-while-light-shines-down-upon-me-because-I’m-on-a-mission-from-God moment… The 1988 Toys “R” Us Rookies set. I won’t show the entire set, but I’ll feature the cards I wanted and some of the other highlights.

So here’s the one card that, for me, was an upgrade rather than a new addition:
1988 Toys R Us Randy Myers
Randy Myers finished in a 4-way tie for 6th place in the 1987 NL Rookie Of The Year voting.

Randy was traded for Bip Roberts in the early 1990’s. Talk about a bullet point for your resume…

…and just in case anyone’s interested, here’s what the back looks like.
1988 Toys R Us Randy Myers back

David Cone is the other Met in this set… This card was probably golden at the time it came out, because Cone had gone from having a losing record in 1987 to going 20-3 in 1988.
1988 Toys R Us Dave Cone

Moving over to the Orioles, we’ve got Ken Gerhart;  1988 would be his last MLB season.
1988 Toys R Us Ken Gerhart

…And Billy Ripken, who was the starting 2nd baseman for the 1988 Orioles. Should I mention that the 1988 Orioles lost 107 games? Nah, I’ll let it slide.
1988 Toys R Us Billy Ripken

Speaking of the Orioles, Mr. B.J. Surhoff is one of my favorite all-time Orioles, although he’s shown here as the Brewers catcher.
1988 Toys R Us BJ Surhoff
B.J. was the #1 overall draft pick in 1985.

Bobby Thigpen would lead the AL in Games Finished in 1988, and got 34 saves.
1988 Toys R Us Bobby Thigpen

Fred McGriff finished 7th in the 1988 AL MVP voting.
1988 Toys R Us Fred McGriff

At this point, Ken Caminiti hadn’t fully established himself, and he’d spend most of 1988 in AAA Tucson.
1988 Toys R Us Ken Caminiti

In 1987, Mark McGwire was the AL ROY, lead the league in homers and slugging percentage, made the All-Star team and finished 6th in MVP voting.
1988 Toys R Us Mark McGwire

Benito Santiago was the 1987 NL Rookie Of The Year, and also won the Silver Slugger.
1988 Toys R Us Benny Santiago


This is unrelated to the above card set, but I had to share it…

I have a number of newsfeeds all going into Yahoo, and last night I saw this headline;  I was fairly certain it got truncated, but it would’ve been awesome had it not been:

Astros’s Farewell Gifts To Derek Jeter:  Golf Clubs, Cowboy Hat, And A Pair

…as it turned out, he got a pair of pinstriped cowboy boots. Too bad, I enjoyed it more when I thought that Jeter “got a pair”.

One thought on “It’s All Right Here In My Box Set: 1988 Toys “R” Us Rookies

Leave a Reply

