That Which Was Wrongly Thought Complete, Let It Truly Be Whole

Back in December, I made a horrifying discovery. Well, horrifying to me, anyway…  And it actually ended up being three horrifying discoveries.

You see, back in my younger days, I collected a run of complete sets from 1974 to 1978… or so I thought.  Apparently my inventory methods were something less than industry standards at the time, because I recently found that I was one short on the 1974 set, 3 short on 1976 and 1 short on the 1977 set.  Thankfully, my 1975 and 1978 sets have maintained their completeness over the years.

I recently went to a card show, and the primary mission was to complete those three sets I had already believed to be complete.  For a grand total of $3 I bought all five of the cards I need, I have three complete sets and can sleep better at night.

This card didn’t look familiar to me, so I may never have had a complete 1974 set.
1974 Topps Fred Norman
What’s funny is that this card completes the 1974 set and the 1974 master set.  Over the past couple of years I’d finished off all the variations and “Washington Nat’l Lea” cards and team checklists without realizing that I didn’t really have a complete set to start with.

I’m almost positive I’d had this card before, but Lord knows where it went.
1977 Topps Ed Bane

This card doesn’t seem all that familiar to me…
1976 Topps Mike Norris

…nor does this, but they’re such generic 1970’s cards that it’s hard to tell for sure.
1976 Topps Pepe Mangual

At a buck, this was my big purchase of the lot:
1976 Topps NL RBI Leaders
It’s one thing to be missing an Expos outfielder, but you’d think I would’ve noticed a distinct lack of a league leader card… but that speaks volumes about my collection’s organization.

While I was a bit upset and annoyed that I was missing cards, I have to admit it was fun looking for them at the show.  I hadn’t added to my 1976 or 1977 Topps sets in over 35 years.

What do you suppose the odds are that the next Fairfield repack I buy will have one of these cards in it?

 

 

10 thoughts on “That Which Was Wrongly Thought Complete, Let It Truly Be Whole

Leave a Reply

