Stuff: Weird Peavy, High #’s, PC’s and Bad Ovie

At the beginning of the week, I started compiling a post made up of small “post-ettes”, for use when I needed something to post with minimal effort.

I wasn’t originally planning on needing it this week… but that’s the way it goes sometimes.


This has got to be one of the odder action shots I’ve seen on a recent card…
2013 Topps Jake Peavy


I recently went to a card show, and I went extra early to allow myself time to go through some dime boxes. Whenever I go through dime boxes of recent cards, I always keep an eye out for cards of players who might be unrepresented or underrepresented in my Current Rosters binders… Cards like this:
2012 Topps Heritage Hi# Henry Rodriguez
I didn’t think twice about this card until a couple of days later when I was updating my inventory, turned the card over and saw an “H” in front of the card number. A 2012 Heritage high number? In a dime box? Weren’t there only 1,000 of these printed? I know it’s Henry Rodriguez, but still… Does this count as a dime box success?


A few weeks ago I talked about Arquimedes Caminero… You may remember he’s the Marlins pitcher who was named after Greek mathematicians Archimedes and Euclid, and who combined with three other pitchers to no-hit the Yankees during Spring Training.

I recently pulled this card out of a Heritage pack:
2014 Topps Heritage Caminero - Johnson
…the start of a new player collection!

Yeah, he’s a Marlin, but I won’t hold that against him.  They say this cat Arquimedes is a bad mother-
Shut yo’ mouth!
But I’m talkin’ ’bout Ariquimedes!
Then we can dig it!

He’s a complicated man, but nobody understands him but Shlabotnik…


Finally, I’d like to share something about the Washington Capitals’ Alex Ovechkin that made my jaw drop…

…only not in a good way.

Since my most recent hockey cards are from the 1990’s, you’ll have to make do with this 1982-83 Topps sticker of former Capital Ryan Walter.
1982-83 Topps Hockey Stickers Ryan Walter

Ovechkin lead the NHL in goals scored during this just-concluded regular season; he scored 51 goals, a nice respectable number. He also lead the league in Power Play Goals and in shots taken… He usually leads the league in shots taken.

…But there was one category where he was just a tiny little bit behind the leaders. His plus/minus for the season was -35…
NEGATIVE THIRTY-FIVE!
…and he ranks 884th in the league.
EIGHT-HUNDRED-AND-EIGHTY-FREAKIN’-FOURTH!!!!! 
It’s not last in the league, but it’s pretty damn close.

I knew he was something of a one-dimensional player, but holy crap, that’s awful.


Update: About 30 minutes after I posted this, I found out it was post #800. Yay!

7 thoughts on “Stuff: Weird Peavy, High #’s, PC’s and Bad Ovie

  1. Contrast that with Bobby Orr ‘s plus minus stats. Seven years of over plus fifty, three years over plus eighty. His 70-71 year he was plus 124.

  2. Congrats on 800! Like you I always realized Ovechkin was one dimensional but damn, never knew it was that drastic!

  3. Not normally an Ovie defender, but a plus-minus like that isn’t really his history. Normally, when you see a 50-goal shooter with lousy +/- stats, it’s indicative of a player who is scoring heavily on the power play. (Ovie certainly thrived there this year.) Something else is up with Washington this year, though. I don’t know why it is, but the +/- of all their best offensive players is awful. That could point to system, usage, or even bad luck, but that entire unit didn’t generate much at even strength.

Leave a Reply

