Topps Takeover, Pt. 5: What I Would Do With Packs And Blasters

Yet another post about how I’m going to run Topps into the ground after I purchase the company.

By the way, I feel like I should mention that these posts are largely the compilation of notes I’ve made over the past two years… Every time I would think of something along the lines of “If I were in charge…”, I made sure I wrote it down.

…Just in case you were picturing me spending the entire week brainstorming about this until I was a delirious, unshaven, unhygienic mess, hunched over a laptop, giggling maniacally and surrounded by empty Mountain Dew bottles.

Of course, there are days when that’s not terribly far from the truth.

Today I want to get into the packaging of my Topps cards, because that is the kind of thoughts I sometimes fill my idle moments with.

It would be extremely cool to bring wax packs back, but I’ve all but ruled it out under the most essential groundrule and prime directive of “keep things somewhat realistic”.

First you have to keep in mind why the wax packs went away in the first place.  Upper Deck started it all in 1989 by touting their tamper-proof packs, and it quickly became an industry standard.  If a new set came out with wax wrappers, I can just picture the guys in the card aisle at Target with a little portable “wax pack resealer” device.

The only way I could see wax packs working from a tamper-proof standpoint is if they came only in blasters or blister packs… otherwise, it’s just a nightmare awaiting all involved.

There’s another reason why wax packs are most likely unrealistic… I would doubt that the machinery to make wax packs still exists.  When was the last time you saw a honest-to-God wax wrapper on a pack of anything?  They don’t even do that for OneDirection cards.

One thing I would definitely bring back is the rack pack that gives one a glimpse of the front of at least one of the cards.  Several years ago Topps did that with Attax, and it was fun to go through the rack packs, trying to pick the ones which had a player I wanted the most.  I think I almost enjoyed the rack pack buying process more than the actual cards themselves.  I don’t really see putting a clear window on a plastic rack pack wrapper as being a huge deal, but there’s likely a reason I’m not seeing.

Moving right along…

I’m so sick and tired of minis that I want to overcompensate for them and get oversized cards back to the retail marketplace.  Figuring out how to get an oversized card into a pack or even a blaster was a bit problematic until I had a mini epiphany:  Why does it have to go inside the blaster?

Yep, I want to go “vintage Bazooka”… Possibly something similar to this custom I made over a year ago:

2012-13 Hot Stove #16 - Lance Berkman

…Although admittedly this isn’t the greatest example because the 1960-62 Bazooka set on which this is based is a smaller-than-standard set.

Every blaster or box of cards will have a blank-backed oversized card printed on the back or bottom.  I just measured a Heritage blaster, it looks like  you could get a 3.5″ x 5″ card on one side… If you tweak the dimensions, you could probably get two or three on the bottom of a Heritage hobby box.  I think this is worth pursuing.  Let’s bring “hand cut” back into the hobby lexicon!

We’re coming down the homestretch with this stuff… This is the last post I have planned for a particular theme;  I’m going to finish this off (for now) with a post tomorrow about all the miscellaneous things I forgot to mention already.

7 thoughts on “Topps Takeover, Pt. 5: What I Would Do With Packs And Blasters

  1. Box bottom cards, in general, oughtta come back. Why waste any surface space that could be used to bring another baseball card into this world?

    And, hey, don’t knock the Mt. Dew. It’s been fueling my Card Nights for several weeks now, and I’m happy with its performance. Let’s just hope I have a strong heart…

  2. Pingback: Topps Takeover: The Designs I’m Using For Next Year’s Archives | The Shlabotnik Report

Leave a Reply

