2014 TSR – Leaning Against A Wall And Catching My Breath

May, 2014 was not a fun month for me, and I’m happy to see it go (although part of me is saying “What, it’s June ALREADY???”).

At the beginning of the month I saw the storm clouds on the horizon, made up a bunch of customs and uploaded them to the blog for future use – the blogging equivalent of stocking one’s storm cellar. Now that the storm’s blown over, I’m picking up the pieces and trying to remember what I was doing before it all hit the fan.

There were a number of customs whose moments had passed, but I’m not going to let customs go to waste.

This Nate Freiman custom involves my favorite image involving contrasts since the photo I took nine years ago of Walter Young (6’5″, 320 lbs.) standing next to Brian Roberts (5’9″ – yeah, right; 175 lbs.)
2014 TSR #171 Nate Freiman
In case you were wondering, Nate Freiman is 6’8″. I can’t remember for sure, but I think that’s Jed Lowrie (6’0″) standing next to him.

It seems like I should share this Series One card of Phil Irwin with the Pirates…
2014 TSR #14 Phil Irwin
…now that he’s been picked up on waivers by the Rangers. Phil has one single game on his Major League resume; on 4/14/13, he started a game against the Reds, went 4.2 innings, gave up 6 hits and 4 earned runs (7.71 ERA) and got a no-decision in a game where the Bucs were down 5-0 after six innings and put up two big innings to win 10-7

I think I may have had something to say about Josh Willingham at one point.
2014 TSR #129 Josh Willingham

This Grant Green custom had one very important purpose: I hadn’t published any customs of the Angels.
2014 TSR #73 Grant Green
…And, if I’m not mistaken, I still haven’t posted a Brewer.

You know what? Let me get that monkey off my back. Here it is, the first custom made in June, 2014:
2014 TSR #179 Mark Reynolds

OK, now I can forget about whether everybody’s been represented. Whether they’ve been underrepresented is another matter. Take it up with our Customer Relations department at 1-800-SHLABOTNIK. Go ahead and call that number, tell them what you think, and then let me know who actually has that phone #.


 2014 TSR, custom baseball cards,
Mark Reynolds, Milwaukee Brewers, Phil Irwin, Pittsburgh Pirates,
Nate Freiman, Oakland Athletics, Oakland A's,
Grant Green, Los Angeles Angels
Josh Willingham, Minnesota Twins
One thought on “2014 TSR – Leaning Against A Wall And Catching My Breath

Leave a Reply

