Father & Son: Ryan & Hank Webb

This past offseason, the Orioles did some work on their bullpen, and one of their acquisitions was Ryan Webb, who had been non-tendered by the Marlins.

2014 TSR #248 Ryan Webb

I viewed it as a good move, but didn’t think much about it.

Ryan Webb has recently moved way up on my list of favorite Orioles, but it’s not because of anything he’s done on the mound. Don’t get me wrong, he’s pitched well this year; as I’m writing this, he’s got a 1.01 WHIP, opponents are batting .214 against him and he has 24 strikeouts in 30.2 innings.

No, the reason he’s suddenly a favorite of mine is because I stumbled across the fact that he’s the son of this guy:
1976 Topps Hank Webb

And I said “No way!”

And then I said “NO!!!!!”

“WAY!!!!!”

Hank Webb was a Met back when I first started following baseball, and you know how that goes. Anybody who’s on your team during those first couple of years will always be among your favorite all-time players.

Hank Webb never spent a full year in the majors, but he rode the shuttle between New York and AAA Tidewater from 1972 to 1976; at that point he was traded to the Dodgers where he spent much of the season in AAA Albuquerque.

Hank’s best season was 1975 when he went 7-6 with a 4.07 ERA. He put in a number of starts in the back end of a rotation that included Tom Seaver, Jerry Koosman and Jon Matlack.

The above card was his only solo Topps card; he appeared on “Rookie Pitchers” cards in 1973 and 1975. He also appeared on some SSPC cards, but I’ll get back to those another time.


 2014 TSR, custom baseball card, Ryan Webb, Baltimore Orioles,
1976 Topps, Hank Webb, New York Mets
3 thoughts on “Father & Son: Ryan & Hank Webb

    • I did NOT realize that, and I was a kid collecting cards in 1975! It’s funny, I remember the wrappers, but not the box; I wonder if it’s because the local retailers would just rip the top off of the box, not use the box, or because I bought an awful lot of cards from the “ice cream man” who would hand me packs through the truck window.

      …And it just goes to show that there was a time when the Mets were marketable. :-)

  1. I’m on temporary bog hiatus, it’s a drag, but just wanted to note that perhaps Ryan will have a card in Update this year with Cleveland. I hope so, for the same 1975 connections reasons, I’ve written about those on my blog also. I like his 2012 Update and it was cool to stumble across this custom.

Leave a Reply

