I Yam What I Yam, And Other Thoughts And Questions

So I was walking through a grocery store’s produce aisle the other day, and when I walked past the yams, it suddenly occurred to me that “Yams” would be an awesome name for a minor league baseball team.

Ladies and gentlemen, your Yakima Yams!

I can just picture an old-school uniform, maybe evoking the St. Louis Browns in colors and design, script “Yams” across the chest.  When I get that windfall coming in from that Nigerian Prince, perhaps I’ll buy a minor league team and rename them the Yams.

Yams baseball… it’s Yam-tastic!

Moving on to other things…

At the beginning of the year I’d decided to buy a factory set of 2014 Topps rather than my usual pack-busting, and Factory Set Time is almost on us.  I don’t think I’ve bought a factory set since 1995, is there any advantage to buying a set from a card dealer as opposed to, say, Target?  I know the various factory sets come with a few parallels or  inserts, but I doubt I’d do anything with inserts other than ship them off to COMC to sell them.  Does anybody have any suggestions?

The other day I was watching a Mets game, and they showed Terry Collins in the dugout fidgeting with his pen.  I did a double take and said “Holy crap, is that a Bic Four-color pen?”  I paused the game and sure enough, it was that very thing… completely identical to the ones I had as a kid in the 1970’s.  I had no idea they still made those, and it frankly weirded me out a bit… but in a good way.

Is it a coincidence that Phillies GM Ruben Amaro, Jr. has John Mayberry, Jr. and Tony Gwynn, Jr. on his team?

To wrap up the post, and bring the whole “Yam” thing back around again, I present a list of my tops songs with “I Am” in the title:

“I Am The Walrus”, The Beatles

“I Am A Rock”, Simon And Garfunkel

“All I Am”, Dada

“Here I Am”, Lyle Lovett

“I Am Not The Only Cowboy”, Josh Joplin Group

Honorable mention, Christmas Parody category:  “I Am Santa Claus”, Bob Rivers (Parody of Black Sabbath’s “Iron Man”)

Dishonorable mention:  “What I Am”, Edie Brickell And The New Bohemians

5 thoughts on “I Yam What I Yam, And Other Thoughts And Questions

  1. I love the Beatles, and I should probably give I Am the Walrus a shot in karaoke sometime. But Bob Rivers’ Christmas albums are totally awesome, so I have to give mad props for you including that song in your list!

    I sometimes find interesting inserts in the retail sets, where others have had only parallels. But if that’s not worth the difference then just go with what’s cheaper – retail can be. Living in Japan, I’ve decided to go with full sets but I have to do the eBay thing and I generally go for whatever’s cheapest.

    I think the Yams would be a good team name. But you should have a whole national food league with puns: the Washington Watermelons, New Hampshire Hams, California Raisins…

  2. I’m going the factory set route myself. Whatever is cheapest is my motto. Just stood in the card section at my local Target. Couldn’t get myself to buy a pack. It just seems like such a waste of cash.

    • At the moment, I’m leaning towards buying a set from Target just because it’s the path of least resistance and they don’t appear to be much more expensive than the online options I’ve seen so far.

  3. I see Paul Simon makes the good list but his wife is on the bad. Batting .500 as a team. Not digging lines like “Religion is the smile on a dog”? Rather choke her in the shallow water before she gets too deep?

Leave a Reply

