Welcome Back, My Friends, To The Show That Didn’t End, I’m So Glad You Could Attend, Come Inside, Come Inside

For all of you wondering where I’d been, I’m back!  …And yet I hadn’t gone anywhere in the first place.

Oh, I should also point out that you shouldn’t be fooled by the redesign, I am the same guy that used to use this as his header:
cropped-1974-banner-990-180.jpg

Summary of the past 3 weeks:  Blogger’s blogrolls started to mysteriously ignore my new posts.  I tried numerous things, decided to revamp my blog’s appearance, tried numerous other things, nothing worked and I gave up trying.  As soon as the white flag came out, Blogger decided it had messed with me enough and blogrolls started acting like nothing had ever been wrong.

No matter, no matter.  This is still a cause for celebration.  I feel like I should break out something I’ve been keeping in reserve, something of a 1956 vintage that I’d acquired a few months ago…

1956 Topps Joe Frazier
Joe Frazier played for the Cardinals, Reds and Orioles in the mid-1950’s, but I bought this card because he also managed the Mets in 1976 and at the beginning of 1977… and because it was relatively cheap. I’m pretty sure that all of these cards were $2 and under.

Johnny Antonelli was a 5-time All-Star, had two 20-win seasons and lead the league in ERA in 1954.
1956 Topps Johnny Antonelli
I bought the card solely because I liked it, but afterwards I found out that Antonelli had been sold to the Mets in October, 1961, but he decided that he should spend more time with his family, so his contract was returned to the Braves and he never pitched again.

I just love the odd pose that Mayo Smith is depicted in.
1956 Topps Mayo Smith
Allright, ya hayseeds, it’s a stickup! Everybody freeze… Everybody down on the ground.

1956 Topps Whitey Lockman
I mainly got this card because I liked the action on it, but it also falls into the “Managers before they were managers” theme I’ve been collecting. Whitey Lockman managed the Cubs when I first started following baseball in 1974.

1956 Topps Don Mossi
Don Mossi.  ‘Nuff said.

 

Update:  One hour after publishing, this post is not appearing in the blogrolls.  #^@% you too, Blogger.

8 thoughts on “Welcome Back, My Friends, To The Show That Didn’t End, I’m So Glad You Could Attend, Come Inside, Come Inside

  1. Blogger makes the Baby Jesus weep.

    But anyway… Joe Frazier was managing in the Mets chain in Victoria Texas in the early 1970s. My friends and I went down there a few times. We got to meet Frazier and he would remember us when we would go back. He came off as a tough guys but he was very accommodating and friendly.

    Love those ’56s. Man, if I ever hit the lottery….

    • I’ve heard similar comments about Joe Frazier before, but never any specifics. Seems like a good guy to have a beer with or something.

      All of my struggles with Blogger just serve to remind me of why I went with WordPress when I started this. Not that WordPress doesn’t have it’s own issues, but….

    • I think I’ve got 4 Don Mossi cards in my collection. I sometimes feel a tad guilty about collecting this guy solely for his unconventional appearance, but I’ll blame it all on childhood exposure to The Great American Baseball Card Flipping, Trading And Bubble Gum Book (Which I’ve been meaning to get my own copy of for about 38 years…)

  2. At some point this post popped up on my blogroll ;-)

    I haven’t had a lot of time to read posts these past few weeks… but I’m trying my best to catch up on everything I missed (as well as try to keep up with everyone’s new posts).

    Love the 56’s… especially the Mayo Smith. This is the first time I’ve seen that card… and it’s definitely going on my most wanted list. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

