2014 Simon And Gintfunkel Is Live; I Just Bought A Pack

I was at my local “Buck Amuck” dollar store, and I found a display of this year’s Simon And Gintfunkel set. I know last year people were telling me that they never saw these cards in the store, but they’re in all the discount stores near the subterranean world headquarters of The Shlabotnik Report.

Here’s the first card…
2014 Simon & Gintfunkel Susie Wolff
Susie Wolff is a driver from Scotland who is the first woman in 22 years to take part in a Formula 1 event.

Here’s the back of the Susie Wolff card…
2014 Simon & Gintfunkel text back
…well, this is the standard card back. There are apparently multiple backs.

This card reminds me of a line from “The Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy” (in all its various forms – radio series, books, TV series, movie, take your pick):
2014 Simon & Gintfunkel Digital Watch
“…so amazingly primitive that they still thought digital watches were a pretty neat idea.”

For me, the 2014 World Cup will go down as the year that I found out that there’s a Brazilian player called “Kaka”:
2014 Simon & Gintfunkel Kaka
I’ve heard he’s quite good, and he seems to be a handsome guy.. but “Kaka”? I can only guess that the word doesn’t have the same meaning in Portuguese that it does in Spanish (or English).

This is my favorite card from the pack:
2014 Simon & Gintfunkel infinite regression
Whoa… Dude, you are making my head hurt!

I don’t know what to say about this card. I think it might be from the “household gardening” subset.
2014 Simon & Gintfunkel Terra Cotta Pot

Finally, a card that seems destined for the dime box…
2014 Simon & Gintfunkel dime

Just like last year, I didn’t get any baseball players in what’s supposed to be a baseball set.  Maybe in the next pack…

2 thoughts on “2014 Simon And Gintfunkel Is Live; I Just Bought A Pack

  1. I would buy these. I’d hope for doubles of Infinite Regression and put one on either side of me and pretend I was in a mirrored elevator. That and a digital watch because they really are a pretty neat idea.

Leave a Reply

