1989 Topps At A Crossroads

This year, Topps got me thinking about 1989.

Seeing how this year’s die-cut minis and Archives set took some annoying liberties with the original design, it got me to look at the originals with fresh eyes.
1989 Topps Wade Boggs

…And those fresh eyes said “This set is really nothing special.”

No offense to those of you who grew up with 1989 Topps, and for whom this set holds a special place in their hearts.  Believe me, I know how that goes.  1974 will always be MY set, just like Tom Baker’s Fourth Doctor will always be MY Doctor.

But I was in my mid-20’s in 1989, so my heart had long since been given away to another Topps set.  I collected the Topps set because it was Topps… but out of the five main sets that came out that year, I’d have to rank Topps in 3rd place.

…And the 1989 set you’re probably thinking of is not in the top 2.

What the heck, I may as well run down the rankings from 5 to 1. (And part of me wants to shout out “It’s Funny Five Time!”, except this top 5 was not voted on by Dementions and Dementites from coast to coast, border to border…)

Number Five…

In 5th place is the set that makes me want to listen to live Johny Cash albums or rattle a tin cup against steel bars… 1989 Fleer!
1989 Fleer Carl Nichols

For most of the 1980’s, I was a Fleer guy.  I appreciated that Fleer seemed to understand that baseball cards are supposed to be fun.  88F wasn’t a favorite, but I still got a factory set.  1989 Fleer was the first Fleer set where I said “Ehhhhrrrrrrrr… No thanks.”

Number Four…

#4 is the set I’m sure many of you were thinking I’d rank #1:  Upper Deck.
1989 UD Gregg Jefferies
This set was not aimed at me in the slightest.  Sure, the cards were head and shoulders above the competition in terms of printing quality and other factors, but they were far more expensive than anything else on the market.  The “Return On Investment” just wasn’t there for me.  It  may have been a nice set, but it was way too serious of a set.

Number Three…

The #3 set is, as I mentioned, 1989 Topps.

1989 Topps Kirk McCaskill

Number Two…
#2 is 1989 Score.
1989 Score Ron Darling
It wasn’t as nice of a design as their debut set, but I still liked it plenty.  For a novel change of pace, they actually got the team name on the front.

Number One…

I think that 1989 is the only year in the history of baseball cards where I could say that Donruss was my favorite set.
1989 Donruss Jamie Moyer
I’m not entirely sure why, to be honest.  It’s got the usual thin Donruss cardboard and the photos are printed kind of dark and a bit blurry, but something about it just strikes a chord with me.  Simple, yet colorful.

…ANYWAY…

I’ve strayed off of my original topic, which is 1989 Topps being at a crossroads.  For years I intended to collect as many Topps sets as I could, but that goal is several years gone.  For now, I do have a long-term goal of completing at least one set from each year starting with 1973, but as I’ve mentioned, there are two sets in line ahead of 89T.

To be honest, there’s one little detail that keeps me from just going ahead and purging the set and being done with it… and that’s the fact that I have 774 cards from this set.  Yes, that’s right, I’m 18 cards away from completing it.

To be honest, though, completing this set wouldn’t really feel like an achievement for me.  I think that completing it would be a mild relief with regards to one fewer set to keep track of.  I can also accomplish that same relief by getting the one or two cards I would really want from the remaining 18, declaring the set a “TKO” and then going back and dumping all the Dale Mahorcic and Don Heinkel cards that do nothing beyond take up space in a monster box.

It’s a tough choice, but to get my collection to the size I’d like it to be, I’m going to have to make these tough choices…

…Someday.

I’ll be frank about this, I’ve been waffling on this for a couple of weeks now.

I also haven’t sat down with the set and gone through it… Maybe I’m forgetting something or missing something about the set that would make it worthwhile to keep.

…Or maybe it’s the prototypical junk wax era set that I could replace for $5 if I ever changed my mind.

Does anybody want to make an impassioned plea for or against 1989 Topps?

5 thoughts on “1989 Topps At A Crossroads

  1. To me, 1989 Topps has never been anything more than average. I don’t hate it, but I don’t love it. Like you said, however, I can certainly appreciate the nostalgia a lot of people have for ’89 Topps.

    I think Score is probably my favorite set from ’89, with UD a close second.

  2. Opening a pack of Archives a couple of weeks ago, I had a tinge of nostalgia for the ’89 set. Then I went back and looked at the originals again…and I love the Archives so much more. Not sure why.

    Though I will say this, don’t get rid of those ’89s when you’re so close to completing it. I dumped all my ’89s and ’90s several months ago. I was probably 100-200 away from completing each, and was just tired of them taking up box space. But now, I wish I hadn’t done it.

    I don’t miss all the other commons that I got rid of, but the thought of giving away chunks of sets like that bothers me.

Leave a Reply

