Off-Topic And Buying Time: My Bottom Ten Beatles Tracks

What are the 10 weakest Beatles tracks? That’s precisely the question I asked when I started pondering ways to write a quick post.

For the record, I’m limiting this to official releases through 1970. No “Free As A Bird” or “What’s The New Mary Jane” here.

1994 Topps John Franco

Revolution 9, from the album “The Beatles” (a.k.a. The White Album) – I can still remember the first time I heard this, I spent 8 minutes and 22 seconds waiting for the actual song to start… and then it was over.

Good Night, “The Beatles”  – As far as I’m concerned, the White Album ends with Paul’s little doodle after Cry Baby Cry:  “Can you take me back where I came from, can you take me back…”

The Inner Light, B-Side to “Lady Madonna” – I first heard this in the early 1980’s, when I found the 45 at a yard sale. When I got it home and listened to it, the disappointment was palpable.
1972 Topps Paul Schaal

Till There Was You, “With The Beatles” – A show tune? Really? Well, I guess they needed something to play for the Queen.

Honey Pie, “The Beatles” – I would be far from the first person to state that The White Album is a tremendously uneven effort.

Mr. Moonlight, “Beatles For Sale” – The song doesn’t live up to John’s introductory wail.

1980 Topps George Brett

Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da, “The Beatles” – Years ago, this song would’ve fared much better. It has not aged well.

Bad Boy, originally on the U.S. album “Beatles VI” – not a bad song, but a relatively weak effort.

I Wanna Be Your Man, “With The Beatles” – This Lennon/McCartney song was recorded and released by the Rolling Stones a few weeks before the Beatles version.

A Taste Of Honey, “Please Please Me” – Herb Alpert And The Tijuana Brass is a guilty pleasure of mine, and I have to say that Herb’s version is far better. Heck, I even prefer the version by The Hassles, a Long Island “Blue-Eyed Soul” band from the 1960’s that featured a young Billy Joel.

1993 River Group Beatles Collection #145

Please note that some decidedly odd tracks like “Wild Honey Pie” or “Why Don’t We Do It In The Road” did not make the cut. Sue me, I like them….

…And I freakin’ love “You Know My Name (Look Up The Number)”!  Let’s hear it for Dennis! HA HEY!

So tell me I’m an idiot. Tell me I’m deranged. Tell me what Beatle-y travesty I missed while quickly whipping this post together.

 

 

11 thoughts on “Off-Topic And Buying Time: My Bottom Ten Beatles Tracks

  1. I think I’m just a White Album guy, but I wouldn’t have put Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da on the list. Other than that I mostly concur! Also, very glad you didn’t include Why Don’t We Do It in the Road as that’s one I also like for some strange reason. Cool post.

    • I don’t *hate* Ob-La-Di, I’ve just become “meh” to it over the years, and being “meh” is enough to get on this list.

      I love the White Album for the most part, but the band had already broken up in spirit if not on paper, and I don’t care for some of the “John/Paul would never let me do this before” results.

  2. The Beatles’ music was clearly ahead of their time and I agree (with John) that “Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da” is not one of their best songs. John didn’t want the song on the album but Paul adamantly did. Around the time they were recording it is when they started drifting apart and we all know where that lead. The song just sounds out of place from everything else on the album.

  3. Rubber Soul is my last Beatle’s album, and maybe my favorite. So countersue me.

    Beatles music is one more thing that my Dad and I connected over. He liked the Beatles’ Second Album. We played that a lot at my house. We were also fans of Herb Alpert. Don’t get me started on 60s music. Wanna talk Dave Clark Five?

  4. I’m fine with nearly all of these. I hate “Honey Pie,” and while I kind of like “Obla-di, Obla-da,” I find myself skipping it a lot when spinning the album. I totally love “‘Til There Was You,” and the fact that it’s a cover should be noted here.

    There are not enough hard drugs on Earth to make Revolution 9 listenable. And to Shane above, “Why Don’t We Do it in the Road?” is one of my favorite Beatles tracks of all! Seeing it on this list would have made me upset.

    Oh, and my friend’s Dad hates “Maxwell Silver Hammer” so much he literally scratched if off of his original pressing back in the 70’s. Yikes.

  5. Man, I love “Good Night”.. classic (rock) lullaby!

    I’ll agree with “Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da”.. sounds like a frat-boy anthem. “Live goes on, Brah!”

    I don’t card for “Girl” much. Oh, and “Bungalow Bill”.. with Yoko’s creepy line specifically ruining it for me.

Leave a Reply

