Seems Like It’s Time For Some Show ‘N Tell…

It’s just one of those “If it feels right, do it” things that they apparently talked about a lot in the 1960’s.  Given that I was five when the 1960’s ended, I didn’t get to experience the “If it feels right…” thing at the time. Any time I did the “If it feels right” thing as a five-year-old, I got that glare that my mother was so good at.

The other day I added a new card to my tiny-but-growing Curling collection.
2014 Topps Olympics - Games Of The Olympiad Erika Brown
This is a “Games Of The Olympiad” insert from the Topps Olympic set that came out earlier this year… or was it late last year?  Anyway, Erika Brown was the skip for Team USA, and she’s featured here.  My curling collection now stands at 5 cards, all from that same Topps set.  Unfortunately I have limited options when it comes to expanding this particular collection, but we’ll see what happens.

This is not a new card for me, not by any definition, but I just wanted to say that Rick Renteria got screwed by the Cubs (as if that weren’t obvious enough).
1994 Topps Rick Renteria
For those of you who haven’t been following baseball as closely, Rick Renteria was firmly in the Cubs’ plan as their manager in 2015… until Joe Maddon opted out of his contract with the Rays. Not being a Cubs fan, I don’t know how good a job Renteria did in Chicago, but I don’t get the impression that he did a bad job, and I hope he finds another job… not that he needs to, his contract pays him for the next two years.

Here’s something I don’t get to say too often:  I got some cards out of a dime box…

A month or two ago I made one of my 2-hour shleps to a regional show and had time to go through some discounted cardboard.

Here’s another thing I don’t get to say too often:  My friend George had a major crush on the subject of this next card:
1993 Classic First Lady Of Hockey Manon Rheaume #3
Manon Rheaume was a goaltender who was the first woman to play in several minor hockey leagues, and was the first to suit up for an NHL exhibition game.  She’d had a tryout with the Tampa Bay Lightning and got into a couple of pre-season games.

I was hoping to get some Minor League Heritage and Pro Debut cards at this particular show, but the guy I usually buy these from didn’t show up, so I was only able to grab a handful of Pro Debut and no ML Heritage.

Here’s one which features a nice photo of John Gant, who is a minor leaguer in the Mets’ system, and went 11-5, 2.56 with the Hi-A Savannah Sand Gnats.  He took a couple of no-hitters into the 6th inning, which is enough to get articles written about you on MiLB.com.

2014 Topps Pro Debut John Gant

It’s interesting that the Major League cards had the useless little design element of having a “file folder tab” on the right that includes the team name, but for Pro Debut they just left it blank… probably because it was more trouble than it’s worth.

And before I leave this card, I’d like to point out that John Gant pitched for the Savannah Sand Gnats, which meant that GANT was a GNAT.  Somebody had to have made something of that, even if it was just a fan with a sign.

….and now…

Ladies and Gentlemen!

The Shlabotnik Report is proud to present the newly-acquired 7th card in Joe Shlabotnik’s basketball collection!
2008-09 Fleer 86-87 Retro Rookies Robin Lopez
This card got misfiled in a baseball dime box, but when I saw that Sideshow Bob hair, I knew I couldn’t leave it behind.  I later found out that this is a 2008/09 Fleer Retro card done in the style of the 1986/87 set.  I did a brief lookup of Robin Lopez shortly after I got this card, but I remember very little.  I want to say that he’s with the Mavs now, and he has a brother.  How’s that for in-depth reporting?

I will wrap up this post by sharing two cards which shouldn’t be the rarities that they are:  2014 cards of Orioles’ catcher Matt Wieters:

2014 Panini Priszm Matt Wieters
2014 Donruss Matt Wieters

3 thoughts on “Seems Like It’s Time For Some Show ‘N Tell…

  1. Manon Rheaume is even better looking now than she was back then.Maybe it’s my more ‘mature guy’ perspective.

    BTW, Joe… I misfired on my reply to your email. I’ll reply today. Gracias.

  2. As a Cubs fan I can wish Ricky the best and yet still be excited by the move. Theo put it well in his press release. His loyalty to the organization and it’s goal to win a championship outweighs his loyalty to one man.

Leave a Reply

