Michael Cuddyer Becomes The Suprising Second “Hot Stove” Custom

I didn’t think I’d be doing another Hot Stove custom so soon after the Joe Maddon card I featured last week, and I certainly didn’t expect it to involve the Mets… but here we are, with David Wright’s buddy Michael Cuddyer signed to a two-year contract.
2014-15 TSR Hot Stove #2 Michael Cuddyer

The initial surprise wore off, but I’m still not sure what to make of this deal.  On one hand, I like the fact that the Mets had their sights set on a guy and they actually got him.  They also could use a bat in left field to complement Lagares & Granderson.

On the other hand, Cuddyer’s got a history of injury, and his recent stats have been padded from playing in Denver.  There’s also the matter of the lost 15th overall draft pick, but that may or may not be a big deal.  Here’s a list of 15th overall draft picks from 2000 to 2009:  Chase Utley, Gabe Gross, Scott Kazmir, Brian Anderson, Stephen Drew, Lance Broadway, Chris Marrero, Devin Mesoraco, Ethan Martin and Alex White.  That ultimately means nothing, but it’s kind of reassuring to think that the Mets could be giving up nothing more than Lance Broadway in exchange for signing Cuddyer.

Besides, if the Mets sign another free agent who requires compensation, then it’s all moot, right?

A quick note about the custom-making process: I enjoy getting the opportunity to make customs of my favorite teams, but it really is a pain in the butt when pinstripes are involved. At first I attempted to change the color on Cuddyer’s Rockies pinstripes, but eventually took a Mets jersey from another photo, poked, prodded and adjusted it until it “fit”. Pretty much the same deal for the hat.

Speaking of pinstripes, here’s a pointless little fact: In his first game with the Mets, Cuddyer will have played for three Major League teams, all of whom wear pinstripes at home: Twins, Rockies and Mets.

7 thoughts on “Michael Cuddyer Becomes The Suprising Second “Hot Stove” Custom

  1. I hope Cuddyer works out for the Mets… I’d feel better about the signing if the plan was for him to play first base against lefties and get a little bit of time in left, right and at third to rest the regulars. But knowing how things work with the Mets, he’s the big acquisition of the off-season and he’s just not going to be a 600 plate appearance guy.

  2. Wow. Great job on the card. I really thought it was an real pic of Cudd in pinstripes. Permission to use that on my cardblogthing (w/credit,of course).

    I love the move because it fills a need and cost nothing but money (draft pick, schmaft pick—we are set for the immediate future- we can easily afford to lose the pick- all in for 2015!). He and Wright, both buddies, both bouncing back from bad years. Hoping both have a resurgence.

    • Thank you, and permission granted.

      The telltale mistake that tips off the fact that this was photoshopped – the bat doesn’t cast a shadow. I realized after I was done that I forgot to darken the jersey behind the bat as a way of simulating a shadow. I learn these little tricks over the winter, don’t use them for 8-9 months, and don’t always remember them when I start up again.

      • Yea, I know what you mean. I’ve taught myself to keep a notebook and write things down. Yep, a drop shadow there would have been nice. I made a Felix Millan World Series .gif card and I didn’t notice until I posted it that a word is spelled wrong. It’s a .gif! I have to correct every freakin frame (app.400). I had to laugh when I saw it, otherwise I’d be pullin my hair out like Larry Fine. I’m going to have to fix that someday.

Leave a Reply

