Cards I Got Last Year On Black Friday

Sometimes I go through my folders of scans looking for something and I find something else that falls into the category of “Oh, yeah… I was going to do a post on that…”

So here we are, two weeks away from Black Friday 2014, and I still haven’t shown all of the cards I got from Black Friday 2013. I really have to get better organized.
1979 Topps Jim Rice
Jim Rice seems amused by it all, anyway…

I’m not “officially” collecting Orioles team sets from the 1950’s or 1960’s, but that doesn’t stop me from picking up the occasional card.
1964 Topps Russ Snyder

Even if I didn’t collect Rick Schu, I just love this card.
1993 BBM Rick Schu
The jersey reminds me very much of the Scranton/Wilkes-Barre Red Barons.

1993 O-Pee-Chee is a set that largely escaped my attention until a few years ago. I don’t like the design, but I can’t say no to B.J. Surhoff.
1993 OPC BJ Surhoff

The 2005 Rookie Cup set is a similar situation; I love love love the vintage photos, but the design is a bit much.
2005 Topps Rookie Cup Ozzie Smith

A game-worn relic card for Mrs. Shlabotnik’s Brian Roberts collection. For those who hadn’t heard, Brian announced his retirement. I don’t know what his plans are, but I could definitely see him as a coach.
2007 SPX Winning Materials Brian Roberts Silver

A cheap Ty Wigginton autograph. Boy, this post ended up with a very Orioles slant to it, although I would collect Wiggie anyway because he started out with the Mets.
2011 Topps Lineage Ty Wigginton Auto

As long as I’m talking Black Friday, I’ll go ahead and mention that there’s another COMC promotion this year (I think it’s already started for some sellers) and I will be participating as soon as I get my act together. More details to come.

3 thoughts on “Cards I Got Last Year On Black Friday

Leave a Reply

