“Hot Stove” Custom: J-Hey Takes His Bat To St. Louis

For some reason, I thought it was going to be a quiet week, and was all prepared to share a custom that highlighted the Twins’ new home uniform.

On Sunday night I felt like messing around with Paint Shop Pro, so I started work on an Adam Lind custom, being the arguably biggest name to move at that point. Heck, I even thought about making a Tommy LaStella custom.

Then we had a sudden surge of news… The Blue Jays signed Russell Martin, and the Braves traded Jason Heyward and Jordan Walden to the Cardinals for Shelby Miller and Tyrell Jenkins. For whatever reason, I was more artistically inspired by J-Hey than by Russell Martin, Shelby Miller and the others, so…
2014-15 TSR Hot Stove #4 Jason Heyward
Which is not to say that I won’t do customs of the other guys, but I gotta go where my muse takes me.

I always forget to point out, for the benefit of first-time visitors, that these custom cards are made to give a “sneak preview” of the 2015 baseball season, and they are based on the 1974 Kellogg’s 3-D set.

For this custom, I had to “clone-out” the Braves script and piping, add some Cardinals script (which came from a photo of Matt Carpenter, FWIW), and play some games with the cap.  I’m not completely happy with the cap, but the rest turned out well enough.  Towards the end I gave brief thought to making his wristband red, but at that point I’d already spent too much time on this as compared to time I should’ve spent on my real life to-do list.

I didn’t give much thought to the uniform # I “assigned” to Heyward;  I just took the “1” from Matt Carpenter’s 13 and duplicated it into 11.  Don’t tell 3rd base coach Jose Oquendo that I gave his number away.

I have to admit, every time I type out “Jason Heyward”, part of my brain wants to type out “Justin Hayward”… Justin being a member of the Moody Blues, and band I’m quite fond of.

3 thoughts on ““Hot Stove” Custom: J-Hey Takes His Bat To St. Louis

  1. I used to be a Heyward fan. I guess not anymore if he’s with the sinister St. Louis Cardinals.

    This is just the type of move the Reds need to make, but I don’t see it happening. They’ll probably trade Cueto for a bench coach.

Leave a Reply

