The Unplanned Custom Of Amber Orrange

I was watching the news the other day, paying only slight attention to the story about the end of the UConn women’s basketball team’s 47-game winning streak, and they mentioned the key role played by Stanford senior Amber Orrange.

That caught my attention.  “Did you just say Amber Orange?”, I asked my TV.  “What a great name!”

It appears that Amber’s surname was mispronounced on the news program I was watching, and it should be pronounced “orr-ANJH”. No matter, it’s still a great name, and it inspired me to make a quickie custom based on the 1957-58 Topps Basketball set:
1957 topps basketball Amber Orrange
Orrange tied the game up with a 3-pointer with 1.4 seconds left in regulation time, and scored the go-ahead points in overtime as Stanford beat UConn 88-86.

I don’t collect basketball cards, but there’s something about the colorful simplicity of that 1957-58 design that just speaks to me. I’d like to get a card of my own, but it seems to be a truly rare set, so I may have trouble finding one cheap enough for me.

Have any of you bought a card solely for the design? How about buying an album just for the cover?

2 thoughts on “The Unplanned Custom Of Amber Orrange

Leave a Reply

