Off Topic: Looking For A Current Comic To Read

I recently read that Marvel is going to put the Fantastic Four comic on hiatus in 2015.
1992 Impel Marvel Fantastic Four

I loved the FF as a kid, and when I got back into comics 20-or-so years ago, the FF was one of the first titles I picked up. I’ve been reading it ever since.

…So when I saw that the plug is being pulled, even temporarily, on this title that I’ve put so much time into, my reaction to the announcement was a hearty “Oh, thank God!”.

You weren’t expecting that, were you?

Jonathan Hickman’s recent run was decent, but for the most part the FF has been dull and uninspired for years.  Marvel seems to have no clue what to do with the Fantastic Four… or perhaps don’t want to do anything interesting with the FF being that the movie rights to the Fantastic Four reside elsewhere.

Removing FF from my pull list is the easy decision… the hard part is replacing it. I look through the racks, I scan through Previews magazine and there’s very little that jumps out at me.

This is where you come in… Hopefully…  Are any of you reading an ongoing title that you’re particularly fond of?

I’ll give you an idea of what I’m looking for:

  • I appreciate both writing and artwork, but great writing seems to be harder to find these days.
  • I don’t care for the supernatural, especially vampires, zombies or magic.
  • Comics that are violent just for violence’s sake don’t hold my interest.
  • No major crossover events.

Giving my money to a company other than Marvel or DC would be a definite plus.

What I’m currently enjoying: Astro City, Daredevil

Older titles I’ve enjoyed:  Alias/The Pulse, Promethea, Casanova, Strangers In Paradise, Marvels (Busiek/Ross), Rex Mundi, The Ostrander run of Martian Manhunter.

Current Titles I used to like at one point but no longer do: Powers, Savage Dragon.

Thanks in advance for your help!

6 thoughts on “Off Topic: Looking For A Current Comic To Read

  1. I’m not a comic book reader. Many times, I wish I was, but then I’d probably be collecting even more than I am now!

    But living in Japan I’ve come to realize there are lots of great comic books here that go from the extremely bizarre supernatural to everyday mundane life. Getting them in English may or may not be possible, but you should look into them. English translations are frequently available online or through digital copies, if not in print. But note that comics here are published in books.

    There are a few baseball ones, including a popular manga/anime called Ace of Diamond or something similar, and one called Rookies or The Rookies. There’s One Piece, Naruto, Tiger & Bunny, and Evangelion comics that go along with the series and movies.

    I’ve seen a lot of stuff online when trying to learn about different manga (comic books) and anime (cartoons) that suggests, for popular-enough series, English translations are available.

    • Thanks, Ryan. I’ll admit, I’ve always been put off by manga because there’s something about the general artistic style that bothers me… but I’ve had people tell me before that I should give them a try, so I’ll look into some of these.

  2. So I guess Archie and Jughead isn’t in your wheelhouse? That’s the last comic I read…..my cousin Susan had a bunch of those once upon a time.

    • The funny thing is that I just read an article about how Archie Comics is one of the more daring publishers out there… They’ve addressed social issues, they turned Riverdale into a home for the undead (“Afterlife With Archie”), they’re making an actual horror comic around Sabrina. Who would’ve guessed that they’d be innovative?

  3. Have you tried Brian K Vaughn’s Saga? It’s a space opera with some supernatural elements. Don’t let that stop you though it’s excellent

Leave a Reply

