“Hot Stove” Custom – Joe Mauer Modeling The Twins’ New Home Unis

Two weeks ago, the Twins unveiled their new home uniforms and whenever new uniforms are modeled by a current player, there’s going to be a “Hot Stove” custom made of it.

2014-15 TSR Hot Stove #3 Joe Mauer
Just to be absolutely clear, unlike the majority of “Hot Stove” customs I make, Joe Mauer’s image has not been altered. All I did was to remove him from the original background, put him against a generic faux-3D background and make a custom card out of him.

I was mildly disappointed in these uniforms. I’d heard in advance that they’d be losing the pinstripes and adding gold to the trim, but this almost strikes me as change for change’s sake. It’s not better or worse, it’s just different. The gold trim is subtle… almost too subtle. You can’t even see it in this custom, and I don’t know how much it’s going to show up in general. The gold looks fine on the sleeves, OK on the chest wordmark and like crap on the cap logo.

Aside from removing pinstripes and adding gold trim, the uniform no longer has the player’s number on the front and the word “Twins” is now navy instead of red (although the “win” part of the word is still underlined).

This has nothin’ to do with nothin’, but recent news stories about the 25th anniversary of the fall of the Belin Wall reminded me that “Mauer” is a German word for “wall”… as in “Die Berliner Mauer”.

2 thoughts on ““Hot Stove” Custom – Joe Mauer Modeling The Twins’ New Home Unis

  1. I flip out whenever they change the Mets uin or jersey. Like when they put a tail under the name in the 90s. I almost quit the team. I think you’re taking it pretty well. And it looks kool, pretty much. I don’t think it’s my favorite Twins look, but it don’t suck.

Leave a Reply

