2014/15 “Hot Stove”: Hanley, Panda Head To Beantown

Forgive the corny subject line; I was shooting for a fake headline like Topps might have used in the 1960’s and 1970’s.

Since the Hanley Ramirez and Pablo Sandoval signings happened at the same time, I figured I’d give each a custom at the same time. I actually made these last week, but I don’t want to overdo it with the customs… I’m trying to stick to one and only one custom post per week.

A few comments about this first one:
2014-15 TSR Hot Stove #5 Hanley Ramirez
I do realize that the Red Sox home uniforms don’t have the player’s name on the back. I figured the uniform numbers’ font is wrong anyway, so I was just shooting for “good enough”.

I tried something different on this card; the “piping” around the back of his collar started out life as a red line that I bent and tweaked using my software’s “warp brush”. It didn’t turn out quite as well as I’d like, but it’s a new technique to play with, anyway.

I didn’t know what position to give Hanley Ramirez… I’m not sure the Red Sox would know what position to give Hanley Ramirez… so I just went the “Infield – Outfield” route. If he ends up a pitcher, I’m going to have to slap somebody around.

If you’re got the inexplicable longing to purchase an oversized panda head, I think you might get some good prices in San Francisco.
2014-15 TSR Hot Stove #6 Pablo Sandoval
Maybe this is easy for me to say given that I don’t follow the Giants all that closely, but I think the fans will miss Sandoval more than the team will… especially for the money he’s getting. Of course, I’ll freely admit that I don’t care for the Panda, yet I couldn’t even tell you why I don’t care for him.

Sandoval’s piping and “Red Sox” wordmark were lifted directly from another photo, and then I used the warp brush to bend it into place. I also had to lighten the jersey, which was originally the Giants’ cream-colored home jersey.

3 thoughts on “2014/15 “Hot Stove”: Hanley, Panda Head To Beantown

  1. Those both look great, wish I had a copy of them for my Sox collection! I think Hanley ends up in left field, and I’m hoping Rusney Castillo and Mookie Betts occupy the other two outfield spots. Hard to tell right now with roughly 18 outfielders on the roster…

Leave a Reply

